The Baltimore Sun 2002 Police Officer Of The Year Awards


For the past 45 years, the Baltimore Sun has recognized outstanding performance in Maryland's Law Enforcement community through its annual Baltimore Sun Police Officer of the Year awards. Each officer below was nominated by a superior officer for exemplary service and outstanding accomplishments the previous year in Law Enforcement and Community Service.

Yesterday, nominated officers, their families and their commanding officers attended a gala luncheon where two winners were presented with an engraved Police Officer of the Year crystal and $1,500. The Baltimore Sun thanks and applauds each winner and every nominee for their commitment to duty, excellence in law enforcement and service to the people of Maryland.

We also thank the following distinguished panel of judges for their time and insight in making difficult selections from over one hundred outstanding officers: Barbara Allison, Judicial Assistant, District Court of Maryland; Benjamin Wright, Professor at the University of Baltimore, Department of Criminal Justice; and Steve Bocian, Division Director for Justice Services in the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Administration for Maryland.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad