Eight Bayhawks are named all-stars


Eight Bayhawks were selected to play in the inaugural Major League LacrosseStar Game, which will be held Aug. 2 at the Ballpark at Harbor Yard in Bridgeport, Conn.

Attackman Mark Millon, second in the league with 24 goals, former Severn star midfielder Josh Sims, defender Brian Reese (Maryland) and goalie Greg Cattrano, the league leader in wins, will start for the Nationals Division team, which will be led by Bayhawks coach Brian Voelker. Tom Marechek, Paul Cantabene (Loyola), Dan Denihan (Johns Hopkins) and Rob Doerr (Johns Hopkins) were selected as reserves.

The league-leading Bayhawks (6-2) will try to win their sixth straight on Friday as they play host to the Bridgeport Barrage.

"It's what you get when you are in first place," said Voelker, who was given the honor because his team had the best record at the all-star break. "People around the league know the kind of talent we have on this roster and the guys have really been playing well."(Rosters, 7d)

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad