Five Terps named women All-Americans


One day after Maryland's women's lacrosse team won its seventh straight NCAA Division I championship, five Terrapins were honored as All-Americans.

Jen Adams, Quinn Carney, Allison Comito and Courtney Martinez were named to the first team and Tori Wellington to the second team as the Interscholastic Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association announced its Division I All-America selections yesterday.

Loyola's Stacey Morlang also was named to the first team and Suzanne Eyler (North Harford) and goalie Tricia Dabrowski (Dulaney) received second-team honors. Johns Hopkins' Jamie Larrimore (Kent County) earned a spot on the third team.

A host of this year's All-Americans played high school lacrosse in Baltimore, including four first-teamers - Martinez (Loch Raven), Georgetown's Sheehan Stanwick (Notre Dame Prep), Duke's Kate Kaiser (Notre Dame Prep) and Duke goalie Kristen Foster (Mount Hebron).

Women's All-Americans

First team

Attack: Allison Comito, Maryland; Stacey Morlang, Loyola; Erin Elbe and Sheehan Stanwick (Notre Dame Prep), Georgetown.

Midfield: Jen Adams and Quinn Carney, Maryland; Kate Kaiser, (Notre Dame Prep), Duke; Suzy Gibbons, Dartmouth; Christine McPike, North Carolina; Julie Shaner, Princeton.

Defense: Rachael Becker, Princeton; Stacey Brown Syracuse; Courtney Martinez, (Loch Raven), Maryland; Caitlin McLean, Georgetown.

Goalies: Bowen Holden, Georgetown; Kristen Foster, (Mount Hebron), Duke.

Second team

Attack: Lindsay Lowman (Southern-AA), William and Mary; Lauren Simone, Princeton; Lindsay Stone, North Carolina; Amy Zimmer, Dartmouth.

Midfield: Lauren Aumiller (Notre Dame Prep), Virginia; Colleen Christopher, New Hampshire; Suzanne Eyler, (North Harford), Loyola; Lauren Gallagher, Duke; Chrissy Lombard (Mount Hebron), Boston University; Kellie Thompson (St. Mary's), North Carolina.

Defense: Allison DeCecco, Penn State; Lauri Kenis, Virginia; Meghan Walters, Duke; Tori Wellington, Maryland; Porter Wilkinson, North Carolina.

Goalie: Tricia Dabrowski, (Dulaney), Loyola.

Third team

Attack: Jamie Haas, Virginia; Alli Harper (Roland Park), Harvard; Jamie Larrimore, (Kent County), Johns Hopkins; Colleen O'Hara, Penn State; Kim Smith (Bryn Mawr), Princeton.

Midfield: Tara Hannaford, William and Mary; Kathleen Mikowski and Kathleen McPike, Hofstra; Jaimee Reynolds (Towson), Cornell; Carrie Soults, Syracuse; Lisa Staedt, James Madison.

Defense: Kim Fabel, William and Mary; Andrea Fortino, North Carolina; Gabby Juoeys, Boston University; Katie McCorry, Cornell.

Goalie: Sarah Hughes, Dartmouth.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad