State lacrosse


Tonight's finals

Site: UMBC Stadium

Class 3A-2A girls

No. 1 Mount Hebron (16-1-1) vs. South River (15-3)

Time: 4 p.m.

Outlook: No team - boys or girls - has won more state lacrosse championships than Mount Hebron, which will be going for its fifth straight and ninth in the last 10 years. The top-ranked Vikings, who start only one senior, are led by Stephanie Scurrachio (57 goals, 23 assists), Kristen Waagbo (54, 29), Melissa McCarthy (43, 13) and Lindsay Dutch (34, 11). Cindy Nicolaus is the Vikings' goalkeeper. South River, which gave the Vikings a battle two years ago in a Class 2A-1A state semifinal game before losing, 9-6, is led by seniors Jackie Colacicco (47, 26) and Kelli Hogan (46, 38), junior Evelyn Long (31, 24) and freshman Jennifer May (31, 16). Jennifer Heup is the Seahawks' goalie.

- Stan Rappaport

Class 2A-1A girls

Southern-AA (10-6) vs. No. 12 Hereford (15-2)

Time: 8 p.m.

Outlook: The East region champion Bulldogs take aim at their first state crown since 1990. Southern, which has won five straight games, is paced by a pair of midfielders in George Mason-bound Kristy Manas and junior Lauren Zang. The Bulls, the North region titlists, are making their first trip to the title game after three losses in the state semifinals. Sophomore Chrissy Rude led Hereford with a hat trick to edge then-No. 12 Glenelg in the state semifinal, and North Carolina-bound Gina Allen and goalkeeper Kitt Turnbaugh anchor the team's defense.

- Edward Lee

Class 2A-1A boys

Southern-AA (9-7) vs. No. 9 Pikesville (15-1)

Time: 6 p.m.

Outlook: Each of these teams is making its first state title game appearance since 1990, when the MPSSAA officially switched to a state tournament format from the previous state-regional one. The Bulldogs, of lacrosse-rich Anne Anne Arundel County, overcame a 5-5 semifinal tie with Francis Scott Key in an eventual 14-7 rout. Pikesville, similarly, disposed of Centennial, 15-7, after being tied at 5-5 at halftime. Pikesville, which owns a victory over Class 3A-2A finalist Fallston this season, won a state regional crown in 1978, reached the quarterfinals in 1987, the semifinals in 1986 and was runner-up to Arundel in 1981. Its only loss, by 12-2, to defending 4A-3A champ Dulaney, came one day after Dulaney was edged, 8-7, by Fallston.

- Lem Satterfield

Tomorrow's finals

Site: UMBC Stadium

Class 3A-2A boys

No. 8 Fallston (13-4) vs. South River (11-5)

Time: 4 p.m.

Outlook: South River, whose coach Greg Carroll is in his 24th year, is in its first title game since 1995. And the Seahawks could be facing either the state's best public school team, or its most underachieving, depending on which Fallston squad decides to show up. South River, which lost an 11-10 game to 4A-3A finalist Arundel, is led by A Bob Woody (55 goals, 13 assists), who is coming off an eight-goal game in last week's 15-5 rout of Eastern Tech. Fallston owns victories over defending 4A-3A champ Dulaney, Arundel and perennial power Mount Hebron. But it also has been routed by No. 2 Loyola, 20-8, and defeated by C. Milton Wright (twice a loser to Dulaney) and Pikesville (a 12-2 loser to Dulaney). The Cougars blew out Eastern Tech, 25-3, led by Matt Bosse (five goals, one assist), Chris Jans (four, five), Matt Warfield (four goals) and Steve Mull (one, five). Mull leads the area with 75 assists.

- Lem Satterfield

Class 4A-3A girls

No. 6 Severna Park (16-3) vs. No. 15 Dulaney (12-3)

Time: 6 p.m. Outlook: The East region champion Falcons return to the site where they captured a state crown last season. Severna Park is led by a quadruplet of 20-goal scorers in Penn State-bound Kristen Burke (37 goals), North Carolina-bound Lindsey Stover (29), North Carolina-bound Nicki Barnes (22) and junior Kaitlin Hancock (20). First-year coach Tina Wasowicz has guided the Lions to their first state final. The North region champs, who have won nine straight games, rely on Connecticut-bound Tracy Mullaney (76 goals, 32 assists) and senior Lauren Wittelsberger (68, 48).

- Edward Lee

Class 4A-3A boys

No. 7 Dulaney (13-3) vs. No. 14 Arundel (15-4)

Time: 8 p.m. Outlook: The Lions go after their second straight state title in this, the 22nd and perhaps final, coaching season for 55-year-old Gary Schreiber of Dulaney. Arundel, however, has won 11 consecutive games, including the Anne Arundel crown, under coach Clint Gosnell. Arundel is led by top scorers Mark Collier (105 career points) and Brad Korvin (96), along with defenders James Woody and Lou Verde. Dulaney is led by top scorers Mike Obringer (36 goals), Jon Spivey and All-Metro midfielder Bryant Will, who is headed for North Carolina. Dulaney comes off a 9-7 victory over No. 11 C. Milton Wright, its second of the year over the Harford County champs. Arundel edged Whitman of Montgomery County, 11-10. The teams have a common opponent in Fallston, an 8-7 winner over Dulaney and a 16-12 winner over Arundel.

- Lem Satterfield

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad