Girl Scouts honor five women


As the old nursery rhyme goes, if girls are made of "sugar and spice and everything nice," then the Distinguished Women's Award Reception 2001 for the Girl Scouts of Central Maryland certainly gave some evidence of that.

As soon as you entered the Woodholme Country Club ballroom, you were greeted with the aroma of sugar and cinnamon. The buffet abounded with freshly baked cakes and cookies. But the sweet atmosphere also reflected the feel-good essence of the get-together as the organization honored five local women for their values, skills, knowledge and leadership.

Among the more than 300 guests: Jayme Dorf Weinstein, event chair; Leslie Overholser, event co-chair; Deborah Dopkin and Dr. Joann Boughman, event committee members; Rosalind A. McElrath, Girl Scouts of Central Maryland board president; Marian C. Hwang, Mary McClurg, Barbara McNemar Cummings, Barbara Breeden, Beth Dana and Margaret Hayes, board members; Lisa Cid, Girl Scouts executive director; Helen Bentley, Susan Joyce Ganz, Malynda Hawes Madzel, Margaret Preston and Dr. Lauren A. Schnaper, honorees; Nancy Sloane, Daily Record assistant to the publisher; Floraine Applefeld, Maryland You Are Beautiful program director; Mary Pat Seurkamp, College of Notre Dame president; Linda Umstead, Bank of America operations analyst; Jacqui Shifflet, Graphix 3 Productions president; Beth Kaplan, Sylvan Ventures strategic adviser; John Riina, Legg Mason senior vice president; Dr. Neil Novin, University of Maryland Medical Center surgeon; Fanny Chakedis, Arista Advertising & Design president; and George Reynolds, Miles & Stockbridge principal.

The party raised $90,000 for the Girl Scouts of Central Maryland.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad