Baltimore Sun’s BEST party in 2 weeks

Union Bridge elects three council members


In the quietest election Carroll County has seen this year, Union Bridge elected three unopposed candidates yesterday to the Town Council.

Incumbents Karen Kotarski and Dawn Metcalf and newcomer Kathleen Smith will serve four-year terms.

The day was not without a little tension because four years ago, Union Bridge elected a write-in candidate, former clerk and treasurer Kathleen Kreimer.

Remembering that, the candidates tried to avoid pre-election overconfidence. But no strong write-ins surfaced.

Kotarski, 52, and Metcalf, 35, have served one term. The council will continue revitalizing Union Bridge's downtown, they said.

"We've started a lot of things, and I know I can help us follow through on them," Kotarski said in an interview last week, noting a new cell phone tower as an addition the council made in the past four years.

The town's community center needs new equipment, Metcalf said.

Smith, 37, ran after being encouraged by Mayor Perry L. Jones Jr. and another council member. She has lived in town about a year and said she'll learn the town before developing favorite issues.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad