Early bird tickets for Baltimore’s BEST party on sale now!

Scholarship semifinalists announced


Sixty-eight Maryland high school seniors were among 1,500 semifinalists named this week by the National Achievement Scholarship Program, which honors outstanding African-American students.

The semifinalists were chosen on the basis of their PSAT scores in their junior year. They can apply to be considered for more than 700 college scholarships.

The $2.5 million in awards will be supported by corporations, professional associations and higher-education institutions.

About 1,200 students will be selected finalists based on their ability and potential for academic success in college, according to the National Merit Scholarship Corp. The winners will be announced in March.

Here are the Baltimore-area and other state National Achievement Scholarship Program semifinalists:

Anne Arundel County

Meade High School: Adrienne R. Brown. Southern High School of Harwood: Jessica R. Queen. Archbishop Spalding High School: Erica L. Williams. Harbour School: John D. Evans. The Key School, Lyndsay G. Webb.

Baltimore and Baltimore County

Arlington Baptist School: Melanie Spears. Baltimore Polytechnic Institute: Robert Watkins. Bryn Mawr School: Aria A. Montgomery. Carver Center for Arts and Technology: Makini D. Chisolm-Straker. Catonsville High School: Adrienne N. Adger. Gilman School: Erem H. Boto. Mount St. Joseph High School: Carl F. Foreman. Perry Hall High School: Janet S. Wyche. Woodlawn High School: David E. Hill. McDonogh School: Devon J. Bates, Murray N. Carson and Kellen F. Williams. Franklin High School: Daniel Habtemariam and Meghann B. Moragne El. Notre Dame Preparatory School, Nicole P. Matthew. St. Paul's School For Girls: Anjali S. Bonner.

Howard County

River Hill High School: Aneesha N. Griffin. Atholton High School: Ashley E. Wall. Oakland Mills High School: Elise A. Ayeh. Wilde Lake High School: Micah K. Hawkins and Justin A. Thomas. Centennial High School: Shannon A. Milbourne. Howard High School: Elizabeth M. Jennings. Mount Hebron High School: Jennifer L. Davis.

Allegany County

Allegany High School, Mohamed S. Ahmad.

Wicomico County

James M. Bennett High School: Catherine H. Acquah.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad