Early bird tickets for Baltimore’s BEST party on sale now!

Bielik, Dasso to meet in women's final


Wake Forest's Bea Bielik and Notre Dame's Michelle Dasso advanced to the women's singles final and Virginia's Brian Vahaly and Arkansas' Oskar Johansson will meet in today's men's final at the T. Rowe Price National Intercollegiate Clay Court Championships at the Suburban Club of Baltimore County in Pikesville.

Bielik, the nation's No. 14-ranked player and No. 3 seed, needed just 50 minutes to beat Mississippi's No. 28 Julie DeRoo, 6-0, 6-2, in yesterday's semifinals. Bielik yielded only five points in the 14-minute first set.

Bielik will face No. 18 Dasso in today's final. Dasso, who will be making the first national women's singles final appearance ever for an Irish player, beat qualifier Anna Monharotova of Tulane, 6-4, 3-6, 6-1, in the other semifinal.

On the men's side, top-seeded Vahaly beat Tennessee's Peter Handoyo, 6-1, 6-4, to advance to the final.

Vahaly, a senior from Atlanta, will be attempting to become the first U.S. player to win the T. Rowe Price National Clay Court men's singles title since the tournament's inception in 1986.

Arkansas' ninth-ranked Johansson needed just 52 minutes to top UCLA's Erfan Djahangiri, 6-3, 6-1, in his semifinal match.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad