Unsung Heroes banquet to honor 105 athletes


The 60th annual McCormick Unsung Heroes banquet will be held tonight at Marriott's Hunt Valley Inn.

A total of 105 athletes from 71 Baltimore City and Baltimore County public, private, parochial and independent schools will be honored. One male and one female athlete will be rewarded with the McCormick scholarship valued at $5,000 a year for each of four academic years.

Art Berg, a world-class wheelchair athlete and best-selling author, will be guest speaker.

Established in 1940 by the late Charles P. McCormick, the program recognizes unselfish team play and honors those who contribute substantially to their team's success without receiving acclaim. The banquet will salute deserving football and girls basketball players.

For information, call 410-771-7310.

The nominees:

Archbishop Curley: Antwaun Lide; Archbishop Spalding: Frank Bugg, Leslie Juengst; Arlington Baptist: Candice Moon; Baltimore Lutheran: Jessica Banach; Boys' Latin: Phil McKnight; Bryn Mawr: Jodi Eipper-Mains; Calvert Hall: Daniel Stringer; Cardinal Gibbons: Josh Youisco; Carver A&T;: Colleen Tighe; Carver: Michael Handy; Catholic: Kristen Topper; Catonsville: John Michener, Tina Tacka; Chesapeake-BC: David Darden; City: Jawan Yancey, Jeanne Akanbi; Douglass: Jamal Lewis, Brooke Goldston; Dulaney: Kevin Joyce, Sarah Cook; Dunbar: James Matthews, LaKesha Wills; Dundalk: Thomas Walker Jr., Dawn Shifflett; Eastern Tech: Jason Hartman, Lauren Winchester; Edmondson: Jemiah Green, Jeanene Goins; Forest Park: Terrell Robinson, Arden Pagan; Franklin: Michael Hyman Jr., Kameia Newton; Friends: James Yolles, Katherin Pordzik; Garrison Forest: Ann Stewart; Gilman: Andrew Lucas; Hereford: Will Peters, Jodi Anderson; Institute of Notre Dame: Kim Breitenother; John Carroll: Eric Rice, Megan Sparks; Kenwood: Charles Mansfield, Jessica Todd; Lake Clifton: Frederick Burton, Latia Woods; Lansdowne: Joseph Baugh; Loch Raven: Eric Douglass II, Annie DeCosta; Loyola: Adam Coleman; Maryvale: Molly McLaughlin; McDonogh: Jarod Mayes; Mercy: Abby Pyzik; Mervo: Miles Richardson; Milford Mill: Bryan Simms, Christina Miller; Mount de Sales: Katrina Zelenka; Mount St. Joseph: Eric Zelik; Northern: Jamaal Ebron, Lakia Barnes; Northwestern: Antonio Wallace, Latrice Gilbert; Notre Dame Prep: Laura Randisi; Oldfields: Greta Styles; Mount Carmel: Stephanie Nelson; Pompei: Jennifer Wegrocki; Overlea: Michael Banks, Sharice Johnson; Owings Mills: Darrin Carter, Jere' Christian; Park: Katherine Diven; Parkville: Danjuan Perlie, Kelly Christopher; Patapsco: Seth Dukes, Ashley Fishell; Patterson: Eric Myers, Laurianne Lau; Perry Hall: Michael Bradshaw, Nicole Pugaczewski; Pikesville: Anthony Mitchell II; Poly: Jesus Fernandez, Mia Thomas; Randallstown: Ryan Chatman, Shaye Pleasant; Roland Park: Joanna Mooney; Seton Keough: Nikki Brown; Southwestern: Tayvon Peterkins, Lisa Young; Sparrows Point: Carrie Kraemer; St. Frances: Shanell Watson; St. Mary's: Joseph Thompson, Kelly Smith; St. Paul's: Lee Penno; St. Paul's School for Girls: Amy Potterfield; Towson: Mike Williams, Kelly Bowersock; Towson Catholic: Gloria Quinn; Walbrook: Calvin Booker, Samone Smart; Western: Stephanie Tolbert; Western Tech: Peter Lemmen, Bateya Jackson; Woodlawn: Jason Roberts, Tiffany Reynolds.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad