Three councilmen are elected to terms on Mount Airy board


Mount Airy voters elected three councilmen yesterday to serve terms into 2004.

Four candidates sought three open seats on the five-member council. Elected were incumbent David W. Pyatt, 57, a nuclear engineer for the Department of Energy in Germantown; incumbent William E. Wagner Jr., 60, co-owner of Wagner Bros./Mount Airy Locker Co.; and Franklin M. Johnson, 38, a Rockville attorney.

Voting was from 11 a.m. until 8 p.m. yesterday at Mount Airy Volunteer Fire Company Activities Building on Twin Arch Road. The town has about 2,800 residents eligible to vote.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad