4 recovery centers opening tomorrow to help flood victims


Maryland and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) are opening four disaster recovery centers in northern Maryland and on the Eastern Shore tomorrow to help residents and businesses devastated by flooding from Hurricane Floyd.

People in the 11 Maryland counties President Clinton declared federal disaster areas last week should call FEMA's toll-free number before going to the centers, said Crystal Payton, a FEMA spokeswoman.

Clinton authorized federal disaster funds Friday for Anne Arundel, Calvert, Caroline, Cecil, Charles, Harford, Kent, Queen Anne's, Somerset, St. Mary's and Talbot counties.

The program provides grants and low-interest loans to repair or replace homes and businesses, emergency food, clothing and shelter and unemployment assistance.

The centers, which will be open from 10 a.m. to 6: 30 p.m. Thursday and Friday and 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday, are:

Darlington Volunteer Fire Company, 2600 Castleton Road, Darlington, in Harford County.

Millington Community Volunteer Fire Company, 185 Sassafras St., Millington, in Kent County.

Caroline County Courthouse, 109 Market St., Denton.

Crisfield City Hall, 319 W. Main St., Crisfield, Somerset County.

FEMA's toll-free line is 800-462-9029. The TTY number is 800-462-7585.

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad