BaseballAL: Named Red Sox SS Nomar Garciaparra...



AL: Named Red Sox SS Nomar Garciaparra Player of the Week.

NL: Named Brewers 3B Jeff Cirillo Player of the Week.

Phillies: Agreed to terms on two-year contract with OF Rob Ducey.


Magic: Signed G Chucky Atkins and C-F John Amaechi.

International Basketball League: Named Joseph Keough chief financial officer.


Western Athletic Conference: Named Patrick Hairston assistant commissioner.

Westminster: Named Josh Gurekovich, Martha Anderson and Jamie Brown coaching interns for 1999-2000 academic year.


Browns: Waived former Ravens G Alex Bernstein. Signed OT Chris Ruhman.

Chargers: Re-signed RB Tremayne Stephens. Released OL Reginald Nelson from practice squad.

Jaguars: Placed S Mike Logan on IR. Signed S Rayna Stewart.

Patriots: Waived LB Ron Merkerson.

CFL: Fined Alouettes and former Stallions DE Elfrid Payton $1,000 for entering Hamilton dressing room to get into brawl with Tiger-Cats OL Dave Hack.


Caps: Assigned D Ross Lupaschuk to WHL Prince Albert and C Charlie Stephens to OHL Guelph.

Coyotes: Assigned D David Cullen, D Francois Leroux, D Robert Schnabel, G Patrick Des Rochers, RW Steven King, RW Jean-Guy Trudel and RW Shayne Toporowski to AHL Springfield. Assigned D Kirill Safronov to Quebec Remparts of Quebec Major Junior Hockey League.

Islanders: Signed C Mats Lindgren to two-year contract. Assigned D Aris Brimanis to IHL Kansas City Blades.

Maple Leafs: Assigned F Ryan Pepperall, F Jason Sessa, F Aaron Brand, F Vladimir Antipov, F Frantisek Mrazek, F Bobby House, F Syl Apps, F Jacques Lariviere, F Dennis Maxwell, D Justin Hocking, D Chris Bogas, D Peter Reynolds, D Hugo Marchand, G Marc Robitaille and G Francis Larivee to AHL St. John's.

Oilers: Assigned G Eric Heffler, D Matthieu Descoteaux, D Chris Hajt, C Brian Swanson, LW Daniel Cleary, RW Michael Riesen and RW Vladimir Vorobiev to AHL Hamilton. Designated D Alex Henry for assignment.

Panthers: Assigned C Eric Boguniecki and RW Craig Reichert to AHL Louisville.

Penguins: Signed RW Dennis Bonvie to multi-year contract.

Predators: Reassigned F Brent Peterson, F Danny Riva, F Mark Mowers, F David Gosselin, D Alexander Boikov, D Marc Moro, D Andy Berenzweig and G Chris Masonto IHL Milwaukee.

Red Wings: Assigned C Alexandre Jacques, RW B.J. Young, D Shane Hnidy and G Aren Miller to AHL Cincinnati. Assigned RW Toivo Suurso to Malmo of Swedish Elite League.

Sabres: Assigned LW Eric Boulton, LW Denis Hamel and G Mika Noronen to AHL Rochester.

Senators: Assigned D John Gruden, C John Emmons, C Rastislav Pavlikovsky to IHL Grand Rapids.

Stars: Assigned LW Mel Angelstad, LW Ryan Christie, LW Steve Gainey, LW Brenden Morrow, RW Gregor Baumgartner, C Kelly Fairchild, C Roman Lyashenko, G Mike Bales, D Jeff MacMillan, D Matt Martin, D Jeff McKercher, D Evgueni Tsybuk and D Mark Wotton. Released G Danny Lorentz and D Rick Mrozik.

Orlando Solar Bears (IHL): Signed G David Littman.

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad