BaseballIndians: Named Jeff Datz field coordinator, Joel...



Indians: Named Jeff Datz field coordinator, Joel Skinner manager of the Triple-A Buffalo Bisons, Eric Wedge manager of the Double-A Akron Aeros and Boyd Coffie manager of the Rookie-level Burlington Indians.

Padres: Named Ted Simmons vice president-scouting and player development.


Cavaliers: Promoted Mike Wilhelm to video coordinator-advance scout. Named Shane Garman assistant video coordinator.

SuperSonics: Signed F Lazaro Borrell to a two-year contract.

Magic City Snowbears (IBA): Signed G Kenny Davis and G Troy Nesmith.

Trenton Shooting Stars (IBL): Signed G LaMarr Greer. Named John Carideo assistant coach.


Brockport State: Named John Feeney women's gymnastics coach.

Concordia: Named John Motherwell women's assistant basketball coach.

Dowling: Named Chris McKnight associate director of athletics, Joanne DeSantis assistant director of athletics, Frank Pizzardi Jr. assistant director of athletics and Mark Sosna SID.

East Stroudsburg: Named Bob DelVescovo men's assistant basketball coach, Jeanine Gunther assistant softball and women's assistant soccer coach and Tim O'Brien men's and women's assistant volleyball coach.

Hartwick: Named Joe Dombrowski men's and women's assistant track and field coach. Named Marlena Palombo women's assistant lacrosse coach. Named Alison Joy women's assistant soccer coach.

Muhlenberg: Named Brad Hackett men's and women's track and field coach.

Plattsburgh State: Announced the resignation of Kris Kistler, women's softball coach and women's assistant basketball coach, to accept the position of women's softball coach at Augustana College in Illinois.

New Orleans: Named Terry Reed men's assistant basketball coach.

Robert Morris: Announced the retirement of AD Bruce Corrie, effective July 1, 2000.

Rhode Island College: Named Jay Jones wrestling coach.

San Francisco: Announced the resignation of associate sports information director Kyle McRae, effective Oct. 3.

SUNY Brockport: Named John Feeney women's gymnastics coach.

Texas A&M;: Announced it will add women's archery and women's equestrian as varsity sports this fall.


Packers: Signed P Chris Hanson and DB Chris Akins to the practice squad. Waived TE Lamont Hall from the practice squad.


NHL: Named Richie Woodworth president of NHL Enterprises.

Canadiens: Assigned G Frederic Chabot to the IHL Houston Aeros.

Canucks: Assigned the following players to AHL Syracuse: G Alfie Michaud, D Chad Allen, D Ryan Bonni, D Trevor Doyle, C Brian Bonin, C Harold Druken, C Reggie Savage, LW Mike Brown, LW Ryan Ready, RW Martin Gendron and RW Pat Kavanagh. Released D Peter Allen.

Flames: Returned C Allan Egeland, RW Martin St. Louis and LW Sergei Varlamov to AHL Saint John.

Thrashers: Assigned D Barry Dreger, D Terry Hollinger, D Curtis Murphy, F Mark Beaufait, F Hugo Boisvert, F Shawn Carter, F Cail MacLean, F Dan Snyder and F Dean Sylvester to IHL Orlando.

Pensacola Ice Pilots (ECHL): Signed F Garth Gartner and LW Darcy George.


San Jose Clash (MLS): Fired Brian Quinn, coach. Named Lothar Osiander coach.

Pub Date: 9/17/99

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad