Gaddy among four newcomers to win seats on City Council; Stancil, Harris elected in 3rd, Pugh in 4th; CITY PRIMARY 1999


Bea Gaddy, an advocate for the homeless who feeds thousands each year at her Thanksgiving dinner, won her bid last night for a seat on the City Council.

She will be joined by three other newcomers: Lisa Stancil, an attorney, and Kenneth Harris, a motivational speaker, who both won in Northeast Baltimore's 3rd District, and Catherine E. Pugh, a public relations consultant from the north-central 4th District.

The four new council members will fill seats vacated by Democratic mayoral nominee Martin O'Malley; Sheila Dixon, the Democratic City Council president nominee, and retiring members Robert L. Douglass and Rita R. Church.

All incumbents who were running won new terms.

"I think we're good. I haven't seen much support for the other candidates," said Stephanie Rawlings, who won in the 5th District along with fellow incumbents Helen Holton and Rochelle "Rikki" Spector.

"I've been involved in politics since I was 8, so this is what I live for. It's a great honor," said Rawlings.

Gaddy, who runs a homeless shelter and a food pantry, also ran for the council in 1991.

Remembering 1991, when she thought she had won only to learn the next morning that she had lost, she said, "Let's just hope it stands this time. I want to wait till tomorrow morning to see if anything changes."

In the 1st District, in southern and Southeast Baltimore, the three incumbents, who were running for the first time as a ticket, were re-elected.

Four years ago, John L. Cain decided not to join colleagues Nicholas C. D'Adamo Jr. and Lois Garey, and nearly lost the race to Charles Krysiak. The race was not decided until absentee ballots were counted and Cain bested Krysiak by nine votes.

As he did four years ago, D'Adamo had the highest vote total, followed by Cain and Garey. Krysiak finished fourth.

In November, the three winners will face Robert N. Santoni Sr., president and co-owner of East Baltimore's Santoni's Market and one of two Republican candidates in the district. Santoni is well-financed and is considered a threat to defeat one of the incumbents.

With Douglass retiring from his 2nd District seat, Robert R. Stokes was asked to run with the incumbents, Paula Johnson Branch and Bernard C. "Jack" Young. He was dumped when he supported Council President Lawrence A. Bell III for mayor. The Eastside organization, which supported Carl Stokes, then tapped Alphonso Keith Barney, an East Baltimore career specialist.

Voters opted instead for Gaddy.

In the 3rd District, with O'Malley running for mayor and Church retiring from the council, incumbent Robert Curran recruited Sylvia Williams, a community activist from New Northwood, and Harris, a motivational speaker from Glen Oaks, to run on his ticket.

Curran cruised to re-election last night, while Stancil, a former attorney in the city's Department of Housing, came in second and Harris third.

The north-central 4th District had one of the more competitive races, with 14 candidates vying to replace Dixon, who left to run for council president, or unseat incumbents Keiffer J. Mitchell Jr. and Agnes B. Welch. Mitchell and Welch invited Pugh, a public relations consultant from Ashburton, to share their ticket.

Welch was easily elected to her fifth term. Mitchell kept his seat, while Pugh easily outdistanced Frank M. Conaway Jr., whose parents, Mary and Frank Sr. lost their bids for mayor and council president, respectively.

In the 5th District, in Northwest Baltimore, three strong incumbents won re-election: Spector, a 23-year council veteran, and Rawlings and Holton, both seeking their second terms.

The 6th District had the only contested Republican race, with four candidates hoping to capitalize on the conservative views of many residents in the Southwest Baltimore district. The field included Joseph Brown Jr., Anthony F. Forlenza, Walter F. Green and Joe Tebo Jr. Brown garnered the most votes and will be joined on the ballot by Forlenza and Tebo.

6th District Democratic incumbents Norman A. Handy Sr., Edward L. Reisinger and Melvin L. Stukes won.

Sun staff writers Laura Lippman and Amy Oakes contributed to this article.

Pub Date: 9/15/99

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad