BaseballAstros: Activated OF Glen Barker from 15-day...



Astros: Activated OF Glen Barker from 15-day DL.

Indians: Activated IF-OF Wil Cordero.

Reds: Terminated player development contract with Triple-A Indianapolis.

Rockies: Will purchase contracts of OF John Cangelosi, IF J. R. Phillips and P David Wainhouse and recall IF Juan Sosa from Triple-A Colorado Springs before tomorrow's game. Announced that manager Jim Leyland will retire at end of season.

Tigers: Activated C Robert Fick from 60-day DL and recalled him from rehabilitation assignment at Triple-A Toledo. Recalled IF Jason Wood, OF-IF Gabe Alvarez and P Erik Hiljus from Toledo.

Schaumburg (Independent): Re-signed manager Ron Kittle, former Orioles DH.


76ers: Named John Calipari assistant coach.

WNBA: Named Paula Hanson senior VP and chief operating officer, effective Oct. 1.

Globetrotters: Named Kenny Battle player-assistant coach.


Baylor: Suspended QB Odell James and DE Charles Foster for Saturday's game vs. Nevada-Las Vegas.

George Washington: Named Matthew Pascal men's novice crew coach.


Chargers: Signed free-agent WR Chris Penn to one-year contract.

Colts: Waived TE Joshua Keur from practice squad. Signed RB Paul Shields to practice squad.

Dolphins: Signed TE Frank Leatherwood to practice squad.

Eagles: Signed CB Jason Bostic, FB Michael Reed, OL Oliver Ross and WR Troy Smith to practice squad.

Falcons: Signed former Ravens practice squad G Adam Hernandez to practice squad.

Lions: Signed CB Dell McGee, WR Andre Rone, DE Paul Spicer, DT Henry Taylor and WR Corey Thomas to practice squad.

Packers: Signed OT Barry Stokes.

Patriots: Signed OL Marcus Jenkins to practice squad.

Seahawks: Named Howard Ballard assistant coach.

Titans: Claimed LB Greg Favors off waivers from Chiefs.


Avalanche: Returned LW Ramzi Abid, RW Kristian Kovac, LW Jordan Krestanovich, C Anders Lovdahl, RW Branko Radivojevic, D Alexander Ryazantsev, LW Adam Saffer and RW Radim Vrbata to junior teams. Assigned C Serge Aubin, C Rob Shearer, LW Nick Bootland, D Jason Bowen, D Aaron Fransen, D Mike Gaul, D Sanny Lindstrom, D Ben Storey and RW Steffon Walby to AHL Hershey. Announced that C Samual Pahlsson has decided to return to Sweden for one more season.

Coyotes: RW Todd Ewen retired.

Sharks: Assigned C Rejean Stringer, C Ryan Kraft, D Didier Pietropaolo, D Jon Coleman, D Christian Gosselin, LW Jarrett Deuling, LW Eric LaPlante, RW Adam Colagiacomo, RW Adam Nittel and G Terry Friesen to AHL Kentucky.

Pub Date: 9/09/99

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad