MIAA working on new alignments; Lacrosse league revamped; other plans being reviewed; Notebook


The Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association has made a number of changes and realignments for this athletic year and next.

In lacrosse, for example, perennial B Conference power Friends has moved to the A Conference, and two-time C Conference champ Annapolis Area Christian, to the B Conference.

Also for lacrosse, the A Conference will consist of two five-team divisions, instead of three three-team divisions. Division I is comprised of McDonogh, Loyola, Friends, Severn and St. Paul's; Division II is made up of Gilman, Calvert Hall, Boys' Latin, Mount St. Joseph and St. Mary's.

The top three teams in each division will make the playoffs, with the No. 1 and No. 2 teams each receiving first-round byes.

Similar plans are in the works for realigning the MIAA's football divisions, allowing for several cross-over games between the A and B conferences, in addition to championship games for the top two teams in each conference.

"A football realignment committee, chaired by Calvert Hall's Lou Eckerl, will report to the athletic directors with a proposal by Oct. 30," said MIAA executive secretary Rick Diggs. "It may include championships for both the A and B conferences."

A basketball realignment committee also must file a proposal by Oct. 30, "looking to strengthen the A Conference and to institute championship tournaments for the A Conference," said Diggs.

The MIAA B and C Conferences already have postseason tournaments. But Towson Catholic, Loyola, Calvert Hall, Cardinal Gibbons, Mount St. Joseph and Archbishop Spalding will continue to compete in the Catholic League tournament this season before forming an MIAA A Conference league for 2000-2001.

St. Frances and Laurel's Pallotti have applied for MIAA membership but will not join until 2000.

Shutouts continue

The two shutouts posted by Bryn Mawr's No. 1 field hockey team at last weekend's River Hill Hockeyfest gave the Mawrtians 23 in their last 27 games. For 1997, 1998 and early 1999, they have 29 shutouts in 39 games.

Last weekend's shutouts may have been more impressive than the rest, however, because the Mawrtians played without three starters, including goalie Katie Coyne, who notched 18 shutouts in 21 games last season. Coyne, back Amy Price and forward Miles Whitman are still in Australia with the U.S. Under-19 team.

Laura Perciasepe stepped into the cage for Coyne and earned shutouts in her first two varsity starts with help from backs Lee Wheeler and Sarah Sanborn. The All-Metro duo of Jen Ahn and Carey Fetting-Smith also played key roles, keeping the Mawrtians offense pushing to a 3-0 win over River Hill in the semifinal and a 2-0 win over Arundel for the title.

"We had a lot of kids rising to the occasion," said Mawrtians coach Jeanette Budzik. "Everybody was clicking at the same time."

Comets get clutch goals

Catonsville's No. 12-ranked field hockey team needed clutch goals from Erin Coberth and Annie Davis to win the Leonardtown Tournament Saturday.

Coberth, back from a torn anterior-cruciate ligament suffered near the end of last season, scored the unassisted game-winner in overtime for a 4-3 semifinal victory over Leonardtown. Sarah Starsonek scored twice and Andrea Denton once in a game that was virtually even statistically.

In the title game, Davis scored with less than two minutes left to give the Comets a 2-1 win over Great Mills. Sarah Slafkosky scored the first goal in a game that was also tied at the half.

Gaels persevere

Among recent Mount St. Joseph graduates playing college football: At Wake Forest, former All-Metro Offensive Player of the Year Aaron Thompson (linebacker) and former All-Metro DeVaughn Mellerson (defensive end). At Robert Morris, second-team All-Metro running back Archie Wannamaker is a record-breaker; and Reggie Chambers (defensive end).

At Bucknell, All-City/County quarterback Lucas Phillips, Maryland's all-time leader in high school-career passing yardage. At Villanova, Shaz Brown, and at Navy, Matt O'Donnell (both receivers).

Among the best

As this boys soccer season opened, Bel Air's Bill Jefferson and Archbishop Curley's Pep Perrilla are two of the Baltimore area's top-five winningest active coaches. The breakdown:

Rank Coach School Record

1. Don Gregg Severna Park 261-90-12

2. Bill Stara River Hill 255-28-10

3. Bill Jefferson Bel Air 246-137-24

4. Don Shea Oakland Mills 227-64-18

5. Pep Perrilla Archbishop Curley 159-43-13

6. Len Petrey Fallston 113-36-9

7. Don Kraft Loyola 106-64-31

8. Earl Eckhardt Chesapeake-AA 104-66-9

9. Derek Maki Kenwood 100-72-13

10. Dave Nesbitt Wilde Lake 90-55-13

Pub Date: 9/09/99

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad