Thunder's Gait is MVP again; Star gets NLL's top honor for 5th straight season; INDOOR LACROSSE


The Thunder's Gary Gait was named the 1998-99 National Lacrosse League Most Valuable Player yesterday, marking the fifth straight season he has won the award in voting by the league's general managers and coaches.

Also, the Thunder's Jesse Hubbard was named Rookie of the Year, and Gait and teammate Joe Hiltz were named to the All-Pro first and second teams, respectively.

Gait, 32, who led the league this season with 50 goals, recorded his third consecutive scoring title and fifth of his career, finishing with 82 points in 11 games.

The Thunder plays host to Rochester in an NLL semifinal at 7: 30 p.m. Saturday at the Baltimore Arena. A team pep rally will be held tomorrow from 11: 30 a.m. to 1: 15 p.m. at the Inner Harbor Amphitheater.

NLL All-Pro teams

First team

Gary Gait, Thunder; Jim Veltman, Toronto; Jake Bergey, Philadelphia; John Tavares, Buffalo; Tom Marechek, Philadelphia; Dallas Eliuk, Philadelphia

Second team

Paul Gait, Syracuse; Duane Jacobs, Rochester; Joe Hiltz, Thunder; Matt Panetta, New York; Mark Millon, New York; Bob Watson, Toronto

Pub Date: 4/15/99

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad