THB, Banditos, Wayward and more confirmed for Cosmic Cocktail!

Hammond - Harwood House


Mission: To preserve, display and interpret the history of the Hammond-Harwood House in Annapolis. A National Historic Landmark, the house was built in 1774 by architect William Buckland for patriot Mathias Hammond. With its ornately carved front door, formal rooms and gardens, the house is considered one of the finest examples of five-part Georgian architecture. The building and grounds -- a museum since 1926 -- are maintained by the Hammond-Harwood House Association. The collection of late 18th- and early 19th-century decorative arts displayed in the house features Maryland furniture and paintings, including portraits by the Peale family.

Latest accomplishment: The production of "A Jewel of Annapolis," a video tour of the house that is shown in private and public schools as part of the Hammond-Harwood House Association's community outreach and education efforts. The video is narrated by Ervin Duggin, president of Public Broadcasting Service.

On the horizon: Implementation of a garden design by landscape architect Barbara Paca, a fifth-generation granddaughter of Gov. William Paca, a signer of the Declaration of Independence and two-term governor of Maryland. Exterior conservation of the house will continue. Future projects also include working toward accreditation by the American Association of Museums; producing and marketing of a house and garden book to sell at the museum and in bookstores; and employing a development director and full-time curator.

About the museum: Attendance: 1,300 annually. Operating budget: $250,000.

Where and when: 19 Maryland Ave. Hours: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday-Saturday, noon to 4 p.m. Sunday. Call 410-269-1714.

Carol Hutchinson, president of the board of trustees: "We have accomplished much since the association was formed in 1938, but a great deal needs to be done, keeping the ambitious vision of William Buckland and Mathias Hammond alive. I treasure what we have inherited here at the house museum. ... We are committed to preserving the past to ensure the future."

Members of the board of trustees

Peggy Arundel

Nancy Baldwin

Pat Benson

Jane C. Bowen

Charlotte Brice

William G. Carter Jr.

Mary Davidson

Lorraine Ellerson

Fred Fishback

Francis E. Gardiner Jr.

Robert Giddings

Dot Hammond

Merry Highby

Mary Hiltabidle

Molly Jacobs

Edward A. Masek Jr.

Pamela B. McKee

Boots Michalek

David Morrow

Jane Neal

Sue Neely

Donna Olfson

Susan Parker

Claire Purnell

Lucy Reithlingshoefer

Ann Rice

Jean Sheehan

Lisa Sherwood

Judy Sause

Johan Trumpy

John Page Williams

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad