Scholarship competition open to female studentsA $1,500...


Scholarship competition open to female students

A $1,500 scholarship is being offered to a female student from Anne Arundel Community College by the Severna Park branch of the American Association of University Women. Scholarship applicants must be eligible for junior standing at an accredited college or university.

Students must apply by April 12. Interviews will be conducted in April. The Transfer Scholarship Award winner will be notified by May 3.

The recipient must plan to attain a bachelor's degree from an accredited institution, have a scholastic average of at least 3.2, and demonstrate evidence of both good citizenship and financial need.

Information: 410-255-3407.

Youth Author's Contest winners to be honored

Twenty-four elementary pupils were selected as winners from among 700 who entered the Anne Arundel County Reading Council's 1999 Young Author's Contest.

The winners will be honored at a reception from 10 a.m. to noon April 10 at College Parkway Baptist Church in Arnold. The winners are as follows:

Second grade: first-place story, Elizabeth Buchshaw, West Meade Elementary; second-place story, Claire Martin, South Shore Elementary; third-place story, Jamie Myers, Cape St. Claire Elementary; first-place poem, Annie Flood, Arnold Elementary; second-place poem, Rachel Fasone, Waugh Chapel Elementary; third-place poem, Danielle Frigault, Waugh Chapel Elementary.

Third grade: first-place story, Samantha Parrott, Cape St. Claire Elementary; second-place story, Charles Daniels, Broadneck Elementary; third-place story, Tiyana Carpenter, Broadneck Elementary; first-place poem, Carolyn Reiner, Southgate Elementary; second-place poem, Huey Hayes, Broadneck Elementary; third-place poem, Paige Brocious, Cape St. Claire Elementary.

Fourth grade: first-place story, Spencer Willis Todd, Cape St. Claire Elementary; second-place story, Stephanie Osorno, Jones Elementary; third-place story, Amanda Himmelheber, Oak Hill Elementary; first-place poem, Tyne Lowe, Belvedere Elementary; second-place poem, Carly Hamill, Cape St. Claire Elementary; third-place poem, Allie van Emmerik, Oak Hill Elementary.

Fifth grade: first-place story, Emily Cheesman, Folger McKinsey Elementary; second-place story, Patrick Rock McGinty, Windsor Farm Elementary; third-place story, Brian Kok, Rippling Woods Elementary; first-place poem, Brittany Seborg, Crofton Woods Elementary; second-place poem, Anya Lamb, Shipley's Choice Elementary; third-place poem, Emily Miller, Shady Side Elementary.

Information: 410-222-5312 or 410-222-5313.

Pub Date: 2/28/99

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad