Capital Gazette wins special Pulitzer Prize citation for coverage of newsroom shooting that killed five

Union Bridge banquet honors firefighters


The Union Bridge Volunteer Fire Company recently honored its members for service and installed officers at its annual banquet.

Service awards were presented to: George Keeney Jr. and John Keeney, 40 years; John Bowman Sr., Doug Bostian and Tom Mitten Sr., 35 years; Earle Fritz Jr., 30 years; Bob Bloom, Dave Buffington and Dick Michael, 25 years.

The top fire and rescue responders for 1998 were: Bob Boone, Brenda Burdette, Chad Green, Bob Bloom, Dwayne Stine, Archer Jones, Dan Zile, Fred Green, Jim Harris, Steve Keeney, Tom Mitten.

The top ambulance responders last year were: Keith Phillips, Tom Mitten, Brenda Burdette, Michelle Barratucci, Rebecca Andrews, Chad Green, Chris Harris, Edgar Wentz, Jody Lambert, Fred Green.

Administrative officers are: Thomas Garber, president; Gene Curfman, vice president; Darlene Harris, secretary; Mike Kreimer, treasurer, and Daniel Cartzendafner, assistant; Barbara Warehime, recording secretary; and the Rev. Richard Michael, chaplain.

Executive board members are: Bob Boone, Rick Etzler, Jim Harris and Edgar Wentz. Trustees are: Scott Davis, Dick Gesell, Jim Sinnott, John Keeney and David Warehime.

Fire line officers are: Bob Bloom, chief; Chad Green, assistant chief; Dave Nelson, captain; Mike Green, first lieutenant; and Brenda Burdette, second lieutenant.

Rescue officers are: Fred Green, captain; Mike Cartwright, first lieutenant; and Dan Zile, second lieutenant.

Foremen are: Archer Jones, Engine 81; Jay Anderson, Engine 82; Joe Kirby, Squad 8; Brian Hooper, Brush 85; and Rick Wetzel, Utility 8.

Emergency Medical Services officers are: Richard Michael, ambulance captain; Tom Mitten, first lieutenant; Keith Phillips, second lieutenant; and Edgar Wentz, foreman.

Junior Fire Company officers are: Ryan Keeney, president; Heather Parrish, vice president; Billy Mitten, secretary; Matt Fogle, treasurer; Sandy Farver, chaplain; and Tom Mitten Jr., director.

Ladies Auxiliary officers are: Yvonne Stultz, president; Jane Davis, vice president; Missi Moser, corresponding secretary; Carol Musil, financial secretary; Isabelle Graham, treasurer, and Mary Ann Stotler, assistant; Helen Eyler, historian; Betty Nelson, chaplain; Robin Bloom, Vivian Haines, Elizabeth Burdette, Arlene Hoy and Karen Miller, trustees.


Taneytown: Firefighters responded at 8: 49 a.m. Tuesday to a carbon monoxide detector sounding on East Baltimore Street. Units were out 32 minutes.

Pub Date: 2/25/99

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad