Baltimore Sun’s BEST party in 2 weeks

Owings Mills topples Overlea for county title; Bowers' 134th career win leads way for No. 7 Eagles; Wrestling roundup


Drew Bowers' 9-0 decision against Overlea's James Laubach at 135 pounds earned the Owings Mills senior (29-2) his 134th career victory, his second Baltimore County crown in four title-bout appearances, and helped the seventh-ranked Eagles to dethrone Overlea at Western Tech.

Coach Guy Pritzker's Eagles (219.5 points) captured the 38th annual event by beating out runner-up Franklin (194.5 points), ranked sixth in the area and eighth in the state, and No. 5 Overlea (176.5, third).

Also earning a title was Owings Mills' Matt Summerlein (160). Franklin crowned Matt Schuster (103), Drew Outen (119) and Luke Mays (140) to get past Overlea, last weekend's 1A-2A state duals champ.

Jason Laubach (125), James' cousin, and Derrick Oxendine (145) won their second straight crowns for Overlea, and Justin Mitchell (189), his first county crown after being a runner-up last season.

Loch Raven's 6-foot-7, 235-pound Greg Walker (heavyweight) dethroned Patapsco's 6-2, 275-pound defending county champ Bill Hook, 4-0, using leg rides to become his program's first champ since Ian Robbins in 1990.

-- Lem Satterfield,

Carroll County

Four returning champions repeated, and South Carroll earned its first team title, as the 30th county championships unfolded at Westminster.

For seniors Kyle Burger (135) of Westminster and Mike Muller (152) of South Carroll, it marked third successive titles, while senior Chris Reiter of Westminster, a two-time champion, was denied a third by North Carroll's Fran Jackson (125).

Westminster senior John Muse (145) was the fourth repeat champion.

South Carroll finished with four champions -- Dan Patterson (112), Muller, Chris Currence (171), and Leroy Eyler (189) -- and totaled 156 1/2 points.

Westminster, seeking a fourth straight crown that would have tied it with North Carroll for the most (11), ended with 122 1/2, followed by North Carroll (108), Francis Scott Key (106) and Liberty (49).

-- John W. Stewart

Baltimore City

First-year heavyweight Matt Belcastro won his first crown, and 140-pound teammate Richard Johnson, his second straight as Patterson coach Troy Stevenson captured his third straight tournament crown at Mervo.

Paul Eline (103), Jimmy Walker (145) and Kennard Wheeler (189) also won titles as the Clippers out-scored runner-up Poly, 234-174.

-- Lem Satterfield

Harford County

Jermaine Wilson (103), Tony Martinelli (135) and Zach Coleman (160) took firsts, and Brian Harrison (112), Jon Comer (130), Todd Ess (140) and Nick Mannion (189) were runners-up as Harford Tech dethroned Fallston and held off perennial power Aberdeen to win its first county tournament crown.

Aberdeen's Matt Kunkel (189), a state runner-up last season, C. Milton Wright's John Thornton (171), who was third at states, Fallston's Alan Petrilli (140) and Joppatowne's Tony Zeller (Hwt.) all won their second county titles.

Aberdeen's John Ishibashi (152), a fourth-place finisher at states, and teammate Randall Overstreet (130) each improved on last season's runner-up finishes by winning crowns.

Pub Date: 2/21/99

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad