NDP grabs four events, wins Catholic title again; Nolan eases Pirates' way with three 1st-place efforts


A year ago, Notre Dame Prep coach Lisa Weigmann wasn't able to take part in the time-honored tradition of handing out medals to the top three swimmers in an event because no one on her Pirates squad was a winner.

Last night, however, Weigmann handed out medals four times as NDP captured four of 11 events en route to winning its second straight Catholic League girls swimming championship. The meet was held at UMBC.

The Pirates easily defeated second-place Severn, 410-364. McDonogh finished third with 332 points.

"Last year, I didn't get to give out any awards," said Weigmann, whose team finished with an undefeated record and the league championship this season.

"I was hopeful that my girls would rise to the occasion and swim their best and they did. I love to hand [the medals] out."

Laura Nolan powered NDP to the victory with three first-place performances. The junior set a meet record in the 100-meter freestyle with a time of 54.84 seconds, eclipsing the old standard of 54.97.

She also won the 50-meter freestyle in 25.08 and anchored the 200-meter freestyle relay squad that finished with a winning time of 1: 44.36.

Sophomore Gretta Walters won the 100-meter breaststroke for the Pirates with a time of 1: 13.56.

Nolan, who shared Most Valuable Swimmer of the Year honors with St. Mary's Elizabeth LaVell, said her first priority was the team title.

"I wasn't really thinking about any individual times," she said. "I was more or less thinking about getting points for the team."

Weigmann said she was most impressed by Nolan's anchor in the relay, which had appeared to have been won by Severn with less than five meters to go.

"I don't know how she got her arm in there [first], but it was great," Weigmann said. "She fires us up and gets the job done."

Severn failed to post any individual wins, but the team of junior Lauren Faust, sophomore Alex Golod, junior Sarah Schaffer and sophomore Diane Thomasson captured the 400-meter freestyle in 3: 45.21, more than a second ahead of NDP.

Thomasson said the foursome used the 200-meter freestyle loss to the Pirates as inspiration in their effort.

"On that last relay, we were touched out," she said. "On this relay, we wanted to bring it home."

McDonogh won the 200-meter medley relay with a time of 1: 58.01. Eagles sophomore Jinji Fraser easily won the 200-meter freestyle in 2: 00.67, and junior Amy Hancock posted a 1: 00.36 in capturing the 100-meter butterfly.

LaVell of St. Mary's beat the meet record of 2: 08.49 in the 200-meter IM with a time of 2: 08.34. She also won the 500 freestyle in 5: 06.32.

Mount de Sales junior Sophia Kuziel won the 100-meter backstroke in 1: 00.71.

Institute of Notre Dame's Stephanie Weisenburn was named Coach of the Year by her peers.

Pub Date: 2/01/99

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad