Capital Gazette wins special Pulitzer Prize citation for coverage of newsroom shooting that killed five

Maryland Federation of Art Gallery on the Circle


Mission: To provide emerging and established artists with professional exhibition opportunities; encourage the study, practice, collection and appreciation of fine art in Maryland; and to provide educational opportunities for community enrichment and artists' professional development. Organized in 1963, the MFA has been operating the Gallery on the Circle in Annapolis since 1968.

Latest accomplishments: Last spring, the gallery initiated the "Artists After School Workshop Series." The community outreach program provides mixed-media art programs for children in school-based afternoon care, culminating in an exhibit. Also, ramps were installed to make the gallery handicapped-accessible. And last October, the MFA sponsored the annual Providence Art Institution invitational exhibition, "Pure Art," featuring works by artists with developmental disabilities.

On the horizon: Expanding the "Artists After School Workshop Series" to include families living in protected residences for battered women and children and shelters for homeless families. Other highlights for 1999 include "Emerging Artists," a juried exhibition Feb. 10-March 7 for student artists from the greater Chesapeake region; April 8-May 16, "Art on Paper," featuring works by national artists; and June 24-July 25, the "National Fine Crafts Exhibition," a collaboration with the Mitchell Gallery at St. John's College and the League of Maryland Craftsmen.

About the gallery: Membership: 300. Annual attendance: 11,000. Operating budget: $55,000. Endowment: $60,000.

Where and when: 18 State Circle, Annapolis. Hours: 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tuesday through Sunday. Call 410-268-4566.

Michael Patton, president of the board of directors, on the MFA's 35th anniversary in 1998: "It seems remarkable to me, somehow, that an organization of volunteers dedicated altruistically to the promotion of human expression should be able to survive for 35 years. ... This federation not only survives, it flourishes."

Members of the board

Sharon Arsenault

Joe Barry

Debbie Bluestein

Anne Bradshaw

Tom Butler

Eva Carson

Clarence Carvell

Henry Del Valle

John Dennis

Joe Dickey

Sharon Gee

Bobbie Greer

Lily Grace Hudson

Tatiana Palnitska

George Pitcher

Jennifer Racey

Harry Tarzian

Julie Williams Ward

Pub Date: 01/10/99

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad