Don’t miss Orioles players, John Means & Paul Fry, as they guest host at our Brews and O’s event!

Winners named for Block award


Safety Stevon Moore was selected as the Ravens' 1998 recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award, as the foundation announced the 30 NFL clubs' selections yesterday.

Each team selects one player -- through a vote of his teammates -- who exemplifies courage on and off the field and serves as a role model to his team and community. The 30 players will be honored at the 21st annual Ed Block Courage Awards banquet ar Martin's West on March 9.

The event serves as a fund-raiser for the foundation, with proceeds benefiting the Courage House National Support Network of centers for abused children in eight NFL cities.

The award is named for Ed Block, longtime trainer of the Baltimore Colts, whose most passionate cause was abused children.

For further information on the Foundation, or to obtain tickets, contact Ron Healey or Tina Bressi at 410-821-6252.

AFC recipients

Buffalo, John Holecek, LB; Indianapolis, Jeff Herrod, LB; Miami, Larry Izzo, LB; New England, Troy Brown, WR; New York Jets, Pepper Johnson, LB; Ravens, Stevon Moore, S; Cincinnati, Ki-Jana Carter, RB; Tennessee, Steve Jackson, S; Jacksonville, Mark Brunell, QB; Pittsburgh, Tim Lester, FB; Denver, Tony Jones, T; Kansas City, Glenn Parker, OL; Oakland, Harvey Williams, RB; San Diego, Kurt Gouveia, LB; Seattle, Cortez Kennedy, DT.

NFC recipients

Arizona, Mike Devlin, C; Dallas, Darren Woodson, S; New York Giants, Ike Hilliard, WR; Philadelphia, Bobby Taylor, CB; Washington, Darrell Green, CB; Chicago, John Thierry, DE; Detroit, George Jamison, LB; Green Bay, Craig Newsome, CB; Minnesota, Randall Cunningham, QB; Tampa Bay, Warrick Dunn, RB; Atlanta, Bob Christian, FB; Carolina, Steve Beuerlein, QB; New Orleans, Aaron Craver, RB; St. Louis, Mike Jones, LB; San Francisco, Jerry Rice, WR.

Pub Date: 1/07/99

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad