Don’t miss the Carroll County home show this weekend!

Jones, Isuk head local All-Staters


Eastern Tech running back Ray Jones, The Sun's All-Metro Offensive Player of the Year, leads Baltimore-area players named to the Associated Press All-State team for big high schools.

Gilman linebacker Felix Isuk, The Sun's All-Metro Defensive Player of the Year, leads local players on the AP small-school team. Other metro-area players chosen:

First team, big schools: Running back Rayvon Johnson (Annapolis); receiver Bryant Johnson (City); tight end Anthony Lawston (Eastern Tech); offensive linemen Dan Burke (Broadneck) and John Kost (C. Milton Wright); defensive lineman Ralph Henry (Eastern Tech); defensive backs Danny Bayron (Wilde Lake) and Richard Johnson (Milford Mill); linebackers Greg Smoot (Calvert Hall) and Justin Amrein (Bel Air).

First team, small schools: Running back Damien Davis (Gilman); receivers Chris Barnes (Dunbar) and Chisom Opara (Gilman); offensive linemen Nick Alevrogiannis (St. Paul's), Adam Hendrix (Hereford) and B.J. Thomas (Randallstown); defensive backs Marshall Contee (Randallstown), Joey Ellis (Oakland Mills) and Hun "Scooter" Monroe (John Carroll); defensive linemen C. J. Feldheim (Hereford), Jay Frizzelle (Oakland Mills); linebacker Shannon Maynard (Edgewood); and punter Eddie Henry (Poly).

Second team, big schools: Running backs Marquis Dwarte (Perry Hall) and Martel Threadgill (Broadneck); offensive linemen Nick Dewind (Severna Park) and Dave Lassari (Broadneck); receivers Steve Lawston (Eastern Tech) and Lehrman Dotson (Broadneck); defensive linemen Tyrone Carter (Chesapeake-AA), Leroy Eyler (South Carroll) and Mike Parker (Arundel); linebacker Jeff Blachly (Arundel); defensive backs Hardy McSpadden (C. M. Wright) and Andrew Smith (Meade); punter Raytron Leak (Edmondson).

Second team, small schools: Quarterback Ryan Boyle (Gilman); running back Reggie Cavender (Hereford); receiver Tom Browne Oakland Mills); kicker Andrew Faraone (Gilman); defensive lineman Brian Lewis (Gilman); linebacker Darren Johnson (Archbishop Spalding); defensive back Owen Daly (McDonogh).

Pub Date: 12/24/98


Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad