McDonogh finally grabs Oliver title Seal, Rosenbaum, Johns pin way to championships


McDonogh's Andy Seal (160 pounds) got his fifth pin in as many wins, and teammate Joe Rosenbaum (171) improved to 6-0 with his fifth pin as the host Eagles won yesterday's Ray Oliver Tournament for the first time in the event's 26 years.

McDonogh freshman Zak Johns (103), a two-time junior league state champ, improved to 6-0 with his fifth pin to become the Eagles' third champ.

McDonogh (190.5 points) edged seven-time district champ Hanover (182.5 points). The fifth-ranked Seal earned the title by pinning St. Paul's Lee Penno in 1: 16.

"I lost, 5-4, in the finals last year to Adam Shepler [Hanover's 152-pound champ], so I feel completely vindicated," said Seal, a senior state runner-up last season.

Rosenbaum planted Mike Christian in 1: 27.

Coach Pete Welch's Eagles got third-place efforts from Matt Eder (112), Geoff Miller (140), Mike Hollman (145) and Jameel Day (heavyweight). Finishing fourth were Chris Zuk (152) and Joe Cristaldi (119).

For Gilman (179.5, third), No. 2-ranked state champs Damien Davis (189) and Mike Faust (hwt.) improved to 6-1 each. Davis beat Spalding's Jason Heffernan, 9-1, and Faust defeated St. Paul's Nick Alevrogiannis, 5-1.

Gilman freshman Jared Bentz (119) pinned twice -- including in his title bout with North Carroll's Ross Bell (4-1) at 1: 59. Bentz improved to 6-2.

Gilman's Charlie Stockman (130, 5-2) pinned McDonogh's Bruce Chan in 2: 23.

For North Carroll (fourth, 176), Fran Jackson (125) earned Outstanding Wrestler honors. The defending 3A-4A state champ overcame a 6-2 deficit to pin McDonogh's Steve Chester (5-1) with 19 seconds left.

For St. Paul's (fifth), Robbie Roose (140) won his sixth straight match, 8-2, over Hanover's Shane McIntyre and Denny Henderson (145, 10-3), his seventh straight, 8-4, over Gonzaga's Luke McCabe.

Pub Date: 12/13/98

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad