Prestige Cable TV seeks teachers for fellowshipPrestige...


Prestige Cable TV seeks teachers for fellowship

Prestige Cable TV is seeking nominees for the C-SPAN 1999 High School Teacher Fellowship Program.

For four weeks next summer, recipients will work with the education department at C-SPAN's Washington office, developing high school print, video and online materials.

Prestige seeks to nominate teachers who use C-SPAN to enhance their instruction. Nominees must fill out a brief survey, write two short essays describing how they use C-SPAN and what advice they would give to teachers just beginning to use the network.

Interested teachers should contact Brian Snyder at Prestige Cable TV at 410-875-0349 by Dec. 21. Deadline for applications is Feb. 26.

Commissioners present students with scholarships

Carroll Community College has announced the recipients of the annual Student Leaders Scholarship Award, presented by the county commissioners to one student from each of five high schools.

Candidates must have a grade point average of at least 2.5 and have made significant contributions to their school and community.

Students receive a $1,000 scholarship toward full-time enrollment at the college.

The 1998-1999 recipients are: Patrick Fifield, Westminster High; April M. Jordan, North Carroll High; Stacey M. Lichtenthal, Francis Scott Key High; Christina M. Merryman, South Carroll High; and Cheryl A. Skelly, Liberty High.

CCC announces recipients of Langdon scholarships

Carroll Community College has announced the winners of its first Langdon Family Scholarship awards.

Recipients are: April M. Jordan, North Carroll High; Nicholas D. Parker, Westminster High; and Rebecca A. Trout, Francis Scott Key.

Candidates for the $1,000 awards must have a 2.5 grade point FTC average or better, be a county resident, plan to seek a degree at the college and be in need of financial assistance.

Applications are available from the five high schools. Deadline is April 15.

Retired WMC professor receives Bailer Award

Western Maryland College's Don Rabush is the recipient of the college's 1998 Joseph R. Bailer Award.

The award, named for one of the college's most respected career educators, is presented each year to a WMC master's degree recipient who has made a significant contribution to the field of education.

Rabush, who retired in 1995 after teaching in the education department for more than 22 years, earned a WMC bachelor's degree in 1962 and a master's degree in 1970.

He returned to teach at his alma mater in July 1973 after receiving his doctorate from the University of Denver. He served as WMC's first coordinator of the graduate program in special education.

In 1983, Rabush and his wife, Carol, donated $500 to start TARGET Inc., a nonprofit organization providing residential, occupational and recreational services to people with developmental disabilities.

In 1991, Rabush was named WMC's first Laurence J. Adams Chair in Special Education. He retired as professor of education emeritus.

To create a legacy for Rabush's work, WMC is establishing the Donald R. Rabush Special Education Fund, which will support TARGET and the graduate program in special education.

Pub Date: 12/13/98


Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad