THB, Banditos, Wayward and more confirmed for Cosmic Cocktail!

10 county residents are to be honored...


10 county residents are to be honored at King dinner

A community activist from Severn and the pastor of Second Baptist Church in Annapolis are among 10 county residents selected to receive the 1999 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Drum Major awards and the Morris H. Blum Humanitarian award.

The presentations are to be made Jan. 15 at the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. awards dinner at the Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, 80 Compromise St., Annapolis, according to Carl O. Snowden, chairman of the dinner. The dinner begins at 6 p.m. Doors open at 5 p.m.

The awards are given to people who have worked to keep King's dream alive through their words and deeds, Snowden said.

The keynote speaker is the Rev. Frank Madison Reid III, pastor of Bethel AME Church in Baltimore.

The dinner is sponsored by the Anne Arundel County Chapter of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, Anne Arundel Peace Action, National Coalition of 100 Black Women, Anne Arundel County Chapter; Robinwood Planning Action Committee and the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Awards Dinner Committee.

Those receiving the Drum Major awards are: Gloria Criss, a community activist in Severn; the Rev. Willie Mason, pastor of Second Baptist Church in Annapolis; entrepreneurs Larry and Harry Reese; Rachel Brown, a retired educator; the Rev. Richard Johnson III, pastor of First Christian Community Church, Annapolis; Jackie Allsup, a former member of the Annapolis Human Relations Commission; and Sylvia Tilghman, a Severn community activist. The NAACP will name its award recipient next week.

The Rev. Leroy Bowman, pastor of the First Baptist Church in Annapolis for more than five decades, will receive the Morris H. Blum Humanitarian award.

Tickets for the dinner are $25 in advance and $35 at the door. Seating is on a first-come, first-served basis. Ticket purchasers should make checks payable to: Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Awards Dinner Awards Committee, P.O. Box 371, Annapolis 21404.

Information: 410-267-7723.

Scholarship plan seeks applicants and donors

The Anne Arundel County Commission for Women is accepting applications for two Second Chance Scholarships to be awarded in January.

Completed applications must be received by Friday. The commission recently began the Second Chance Scholarship Fund to help women older than 21 at colleges or technical or proprietary schools to get jobs and become self-sufficient.

Applications are available by submitting a letter, indicating the level of need and intended use of the funds, to the commission, 537 Wilson Road, Annapolis 21401.

Those wishing to donate to the fund may use the same address.

Pub Date: 12/13/98

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad