State honors 10 schools for excellence


Ten public elementary schools in seven counties have been named Maryland Blue Ribbon Schools of Excellence by state Superintendent Nancy S. Grasmick.

They are Oak Hill and West Annapolis elementaries in Anne Arundel County; Timonium Elementary in Baltimore County; Vienna Elementary in Dorchester County; Ashburton and Brooke Grove elementaries in Montgomery County; Kenilworth and Templeton elementaries in Prince George's County; Banneker/Loveville Elementary in St. Mary's County; and Salem Elementary in Washington County.

The schools, which will compete in the National Blue Ribbon Schools program, were chosen because they have demonstrated achievement in student performance, student-focused instruction, organization, challenging curriculum and standards, parent involvement, staff training and leadership.

Each school will receive $1,000 and a Maryland Blue Ribbon Flag from the State Department of Education. They also will be honored at an awards gala in April.

Pub Date: 11/17/98

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad