Appeals bench Sun endorsements: Sitting judges merit return to appellate courts.


JUDGES on Maryland's highest court, the Court of Appeals, and on the Court of Special Appeals, are appointed by the governor. Subsequently, they run in the election as sitting judges without opponents for retention to a 10-year term. A vacancy is created when a judge is rejected by voters.

All the judges on the ballot this year have justified their appointments and deserve retention.

The Sun recommends a vote FOR: Judges Alan M. Wilner and Dale R. Cathell on the Maryland Court of Appeals; and Judges Raymond G. Thieme, James A. Kenney III, Charles E. Moylan Jr., Andrew L. Sonner and Deborah S. Byrnes on the Court of Special Appeals.

Pub Date: 10/24/98

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad