Committees needed for two areas, Brown says Residents in Finksburg, Freedom might feel 'powerless' in planning


The planning commission should give special treatment to Finksburg and unincorporated South Carroll when guiding development in those areas, Commissioner W. Benjamin Brown said yesterday.

Eight of Carroll's community planning areas "have town governments involved both in crafting the plan for their areas and in overseeing its implementation," Brown said.

But the Finksburg and Freedom planning areas "are lacking in that regard," he said in a memorandum to the planning commission.

Residents there "are more likely to feel powerless and at risk" when growth decisions are made on their behalf, he said.

To promote confidence and eliminate suspicion among residents in those areas, the seven-member planning commission should appoint two standing committees of three members each to provide "closer oversight to planning and development issues within each of those two districts," Brown said.

The standing committees would also include two residents from each of the planning areas as ex-officio members, Brown suggested. The planning commission chairman could appoint the residents from among people who have "a record of substantial contributions within community, homeowner, or business associations," he said. The appointments would be subject to majority approval of the planning commission.

The standing committees would review "all proposed development" within both community planning areas and "any proposed changes to the comprehensive plan" to guide growth in those areas, Brown said. They would then make recommendations to the planning commission as a whole.

Pub Date: 8/12/98

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad