Administrators are appointed at five Carroll schools Principal, four assistants named by school board


The Carroll County Board of Education appointed a new principal at Carroll Springs School and assistant principals at four elementary schools.

The board made the changes yesterday based on the recommendations of William H. Hyde, who becomes superintendent of schools tomorrow.

Stephany M. Savar was appointed principal at the Carroll Springs School for special education students. She has been acting principal at the school since spring, when Principal Robin Farinholt became the county's assistant supervisor of special education.

The board named Jane Farver assistant principal at Friendship Valley Elementary School. She replaces Thomasina D. Piercy, new principal at Mount Airy Elementary School.

Farver, a teacher at Carrolltowne Elementary School since 1996, began her 26-year education career as a teacher at Freedom Elementary School.

Patricia L. Heacock, who joined the Carroll system in 1977 as a teacher at Winfield Elementary School, has been selected as assistant principal at Taneytown Elementary School. She replaces William E. Pearre, the new principal at Winfield Elementary School.

The board appointed Karen E. Neth as first assistant principal at Linton Springs Elementary School, which will open in August. Since 1993, Neth has been a special education resource teacher at Runnymede Elementary School.

Phyllis L. Sonnenleiter has been named assistant principal at Spring Garden Elementary School. She replaces Jacalyn L. Powell, new principal at Eldersburg Elementary School. A teacher at Mount Airy Elementary School for nine years, Sonnenleiter joined Carroll schools in 1986.

Pub Date: 6/30/98

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad