Incumbents prepare to defend seats in primary Ferguson, Dell and Bauer file for re-election with deadline one week away


With the filing deadline for the Sept. 15 primary one week away, incumbents are rushing to defend their seats.

State Sen. Timothy R. Ferguson, County Commissioner Donald I. Dell and school board member Gary W. Bauer all filed last week for re-election.

Ferguson, who represents District 4, which includes Carroll and Frederick counties, is set to square off against Jerome J. Joyce of New Market in the Republican primary.

If Ferguson, a Taylorsville resident, moves on to the general election, he would face Democrat George H. Littrell Jr., a former state delegate from Frederick. Ferguson defeated Littrell by 1,443 votes in the 1994 election.

Littrell is the only Democrat to file for the seat, but former Del. Thomas H. Hattery of Frederick is said to be considering it. The filing deadline is July 6.

Three-term Republican Del. Donald B. Elliott of New Windsor is not likely to have a primary challenger for his District 4B seat. He will likely face school board member Ann M. Ballard, a Mount Airy Democrat, in the November election. Ballard is the only Democrat to have filed.

The District 5 Senate seat seems to be safely in the hands of Republican Larry E. Haines of Westminster, who was first elected in 1990. No Republican has filed to challenge Haines in the primary, and none is likely to do so. No Democrat has filed.

Five Republicans, including incumbents Joseph M. Getty of Manchester and Nancy R. Stocksdale of Westminster, will be vying for three seats in the District 5 House of Delegates race. The other GOP challengers are W. David Blair of Manchester, and Carmen Amedori and County Commissioner W. Benjamin Brown, both of Westminster.

Incumbent Democrat Ellen Willis Miller of Westminster also has filed. She is the only Democrat in the race.

Dell, of Westminster, entered a crowded field of Republicans seeking commissioner seats, including newcomer James E. Harris Sr. of Westminster, who also filed this week.

Harris and Dell join Republicans Robin Bartlett Frazier of Manchester; Melvin Mills and Stephen Nevin, both of Finksburg; and Michael R. Baker, M. Patricia Holbert, Betty L. Smith and Harvey I. Tegeler Jr., all of Westminster.

Incumbent Richard T. Yates of Eldersburg has not filed.

The Democrats have fielded three County Commissioner candidates: Perry L. Jones Jr. of Union Bridge, Randy M. Reese of Hampstead and Maxine Carole Wooleyhand of Sykesville. If no other Democrat files, all three would advance to the November election.

Slow-growth activist Carolyn L. Fairbank, an Eldersburg Democrat, is hoping to enter the County Commissioner race as an independent. But to do so, 2,600 voters would have to sign a petition endorsing her candidacy. If her petition drive is successful, she would appear on the ballot in November only.

State's Attorney Jerry F. Barnes, a Westminster Republican, may win a second term without a fight. No one in either party has filed to challenge him.

Sheriff John H. Brown, however, must beat Kenneth L. Tregoning in the GOP primary to advance to the November election. Both candidates are from Union Bridge.

No Democrat has filed.

Westminster Republican Larry W. Shipley has filed for another run as clerk of the Circuit Court. He has no challengers in either party.

Nancy L. Airing of Taneytown is the incumbent register of wills. She would have to beat Donald B. Sealing II of Sykesville and Ryan M. Warner of Manchester in the Republican primary to advance to the general election. There, she would face Democrat John Lockard Barnes of Millers.

The county's three Orphans' Court judges -- Republicans Albert W. Selby of Sykesville, and Walter T. Haines Jr. and Dorothy V. Utz, both of Westminster -- also face primary challenges. W. David Grayson of Taneytown, Herbert J. Reisig of Finksburg, and John David Carbaugh and Raymond B. Pool, both of Westminster, will face the incumbents in the GOP primary.

Bauer, of Hampstead, is the first incumbent to file for three

contested seats in the nonpartisan school board race. He joins Colin M. Bisasky, Susan Krebs and Thelma P. Smith, all of Sykesville. Incumbent C. Scott Stone of Hampstead is expected to file for re-election, but incumbent Carolyn L. Scott of Westminster is not.

Pub Date: 6/28/98

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad