B & O Railroad Museum


Mission: The B&O; Railroad Museum seeks to preserve the legacy and experience of American railroading through the collections of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad and other regional railroads; interpret history and present educational programs that help broaden public appreciation of the railroad industry in the development of American life. The museum is steward to the oldest and most comprehensive collection of railroad artifacts in the Western Hemisphere. Five of the museum's buildings, including the historic 1884 Roundhouse, are listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Latest accomplishment: Opening of two exhibits, "The Treasure the B&O; Railroad: 170 Years of Railroading in Maryland" and "Art for the Chessies"; restoration of the 1856 William Mason, "American-type locomotive," as a working steam engine; and completion of a $1.6 million capital campaign for the renovation of the 1869 Carshop.

On the horizon:

Thomas the Tank Engine will be at the museum with Sir Topham FTC Hatt, July 25-Aug. 2, and fans will be able to ride on cars pulled by a replica of Thomas. And celebrate the 170th anniversary of the laying of the first stone for the B&O; Railroad on Independence Day with an historic ride July 4-5 on the Mount Clare Express.

About the museum: Membership: 2,432. Attendance: 123,89 annually. Operating budget: $1.6 million. Endowment: $5.7 million.

Where and when: 901 W. Pratt St. Hours: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily except Christmas, Thanksgiving and Easter. 410-752-2490.

John H. Ott, executive director, on the historical significance o the museum: "Each day, visitors from around the nation visit the B&O; Railroad Museum and see firsthand the role that Baltimore's railroad had in moving goods and people across our nation. In the 1800s, this new 'rail road' transformed the nation. If engineering, finance, labor relations, industrial organizations, systems operation - or even standard time - are part of your daily life, remember that it was pioneered as part of the railroad industry."

Members of the board

Hays T. Watkins

Richard Leatherwood

Francis A. Contino

Gino J. Gemignani Jr.

George Pappas

John Basso

Joseph R. Beckman

James L. Caskey Jr.

John F. Gayle Jr.

John S. Graham III

Marianne Schmitt Hellauer

Robert S. Hillman

Jack Kinstlinger

Douglass William List

Milton H. Miller Sr.

Greg C. Pinkard

Eileen Rivera

John W. Schiech

G. Dowell Schwartz Jr.

Joseph L. Smith

William R. Smith

Francis X. Smyth

Kenneth H. Trout

Howard M. Weiss

! Pub Date: 6/28/98

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad