September primary races are taking shape Voters who want to alter their party affiliation must act by tomorrow


Tomorrow is the last day voters can change party affiliation before the Sept. 15 primary.

A voter must register as a Democrat or Republican to vote in the primary, except in nonpartisan elections such as school board.

Crossover voting is not allowed; Democrats can vote only for Democrats and Republicans for Republicans. Crossover voting is allowed in the general election.

The Board of Supervisors of Elections will stay open at its second-floor office at 125 N. Court St. until 9 p.m. to receive voter registration changes. Tuesday, the office will move to 224 N. Center St.

A total of 75,238 voters are registered in Carroll -- 37,671 Republicans, 29,577 Democrats, 7,715 unaffiliated, 57 Reform Party members and 218 members of other parties.

Democrats and Republicans are the only parties fielding candidates in the primary. This is how the races looked at the end of last week:

District 4

Most GOP candidates, with the exception of incumbent state Sen. Timothy R. Ferguson in District 4, filed early. Ferguson of Taylorsville has not filed, though he is expected to do so. The filing deadline for candidates is July 6.

Democrats were late getting out of the gate but in the past two weeks have filed for most of the major offices within the county.

Should he file, Ferguson would have to defeat Jerome J. Joyce of New Market in the Republican primary if he is to advance to the general election. There, he would likely face Democrat George H. Littrell Jr., a former state delegate from Frederick. Ferguson defeated Littrell by 1,443 votes in the 1994 election to win the District 4 Senate seat.

Littrell is the only Democrat to file for the office, but former state Del. Thomas H. Hattery of Frederick is said to be considering it.

District 4B

Three-term Republican incumbent Del. Donald B. Elliott of New Windsor is not likely to have a primary challenger for his District 4B seat. He will likely face school board member Ann M. Ballard, a Mount Airy Democrat, in the November election. Ballard is the only Democrat to have filed.

District 5

The District 5 Senate seat seems to be safely in the hands of Republican Larry E. Haines of Westminster, who was first elected in 1990. No Republican has filed to challenge Haines in the primary, and none is likely to do so. No Democrat has filed.

The District 5 House of Delegates race, however, is shaping up as a donnybrook, with five Republicans, including incumbents Joseph M. Getty of Manchester and Nancy R. Stocksdale of Westminster, vying for three seats. The other GOP challengers are W. David Blair of Manchester, and Carmen Amedori and County Commissioner W. Benjamin Brown, both of Westminster.

Incumbent Democrat Ellen Willis Miller of Westminster has also filed. She is the only Democrat in the race.

County Commissioner

A dogfight might also occur in the race for the three County Commissioner seats.

Incumbents Donald I. Dell of Westminster and Richard T. Yates of Eldersburg have yet to file for re-election, but when they do, they'll find seven Republicans waiting for them: Robin Bartlett Frazier of Manchester; Melvin Mills and Stephen Nevin, both of Finksburg; and Michael R. Baker, M. Patricia Holbert, Betty L. Smith and Harvey I. Tegeler Jr., all of Westminster.

The Democrats have fielded three County Commissioner candidates: Perry L. Jones Jr. of Union Bridge, Randy M. Reese of Hampstead, and Maxine Carole Wooleyhand of Sykesville. If no other Democrat files, all three will advance to the November election.

Slow-growth activist Carolyn L. Fairbank, an Eldersburg Democrat, is hoping to enter the County Commissioner race as an independent. But to do so, 2,600 voters would have to sign a petition endorsing her candidacy. If her petition drive is successful, she would appear on the ballot in November only.

State's attorney, sheriff

Incumbent State's Attorney Jerry F. Barnes, a Westminster Republican, appears to have an easy path to the general election and perhaps to a second term. No one in either party has filed to challenge him.

It is a different story for Sheriff John H. Brown, who must beat Kenneth L. Tregoning in the GOP primary to advance to the November election. Both candidates are from Union Bridge.

No Democrat has filed.

Other races

Westminster Republican Larry W. Shipley, who has filed for another run as clerk of the Circuit Court, has no challengers in either party.

Not so for Nancy L. Airing of Taneytown, the incumbent register of wills. She would have to beat Donald B. Sealing II of Sykesville and Ryan M. Warner of Manchester in the Republican primary to advance to the general election.

No Democrats have filed.

The county's three Orphans' Court judges -- Republicans Albert W. Selby of Sykesville, and Walter T. Haines Jr. and Dorothy V. Utz, both of Westminster -- also face primary challenges. W. David Grayson of Taneytown, Herbert J. Reisig of Finksburg, and John David Carbaugh and Raymond B. Pool, both of Westminster, will face the incumbents in the GOP primary.

Three candidates have filed for three seats in the nonpartisan school board race: Colin M. Bisasky, Susan Krebs and Thelma P. Smith, all of Sykesville. Incumbents Gary W. Bauer and C. Scott Stone, both of Hampstead, are expected to file for re-election, but incumbent Carolyn L. Scott of Westminster is not.

Pub Date: 6/21/98

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad