Four appointed to be principals of elementary schools


The Carroll County school board yesterday appointed four new principals to fill vacancies at elementary schools, acting on the recommendations of Superintendent Brian L. Lockard.

William E. Pearre, an assistant principal at Taneytown Elementary since 1995, was named principal at Winfield Elementary. He replaces longtime principal Raymond Mathias, who was killed last month in a car accident.

Pearre began his 29-year career in the Carroll system as a teacher at Winfield in 1969.

The new principal at Mount Airy Elementary is Thomasina D. Piercy, assistant principal at Friendship Valley Elementary since 1992. Piercy began her education career in 1972 as a teacher at Mechanicsville Elementary.

She replaces Bo Ann Bohman, who has been named a supervisor of elementary schools.

Jacalyn L. Powell, the assistant principal at Spring Garden Elementary School since 1991, is the new principal at Eldersburg Elementary. She replaces Margaret Pfaff, who also has been named a supervisor of elementary schools.

Powell began her 25-year education career as a teacher at Mount Airy Middle School.

The new principal at Carrolltowne Elementary is Martin E. Tierney, assistant principal at Mechanicsville Elementary since 1993. Tierney joined the Carroll school system in 1981.

He replaces Nancy Chapin, principal at Linton Springs Elementary School, which will open in August.

Pub Date: 6/11/98

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad