The Star-Spangled Banner Flag House and 1812 Museum


Mission: Interpretation, education and conservation of the history of the Star-Spangled Banner and the Flag House, the home of Mary Pickersgill. Pickersgill was commissioned to stitch the original banner that flew over Fort McHenry during the bombardment in the War of 1812. A larger flag, also created by Pickersgill, was raised above the fort the morning of Sept. 14 when the British retreated. That flag inspired Francis Scott Key to write the poem that became the national anthem.

Latest accomplishment: Museum renovations that included ,X remodeling the show room that displays a Mary Pickersgill mannequin sewing the star-bangled banner, and memorabilia of the War of 1812.

On the horizon: Flag Day celebration, from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. June 14, including the Star-Spangled Banner Singing Contest at 2 p.m. Vocalists are invited to sing a verse of "The Star-Spangled Banner" for cash prizes and a chance to sing the anthem on Defender's Day Sept. 12 at Fort McHenry. Also part of the festivities will be a full-scale 1812 military encampment in the Flag House Garden, featuring military drills. And Dec. 31, 2000, the Flag House will receive a $1 million gift bequeathed by former president of the board of directors Jean Hofmeister for the construction of a new building on the museum site.

About the Flag House: Attendance: 10,000 annually. Operating budget: $116,000. Endowment: $1 million.

Where and when: 844 E. Pratt St. Hours: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Tuesday-Saturday. 410-837-1793.

M. Hall Worthington, president of the board of directors, on the proposed building plans: "We are very grateful for the $1 million gift. ... The money will enable us to build a new building with an auditorium and meeting rooms. The additional space will give us the ability to handle at least two or more bus-loads of visitors to the museum and to expand our educational programs."

Members of the board

Dandridge Brooke

Brian W. Brooke

Clifford C. Bruck

Raymond B. Case

Katherine H. Cavanaugh

Kathryn Cook

Charles Deeley

Fred Eisenbrandt

John J. Ensor

Daniel D. Evans

Lester Foster

Margaret M. Fowler

Richard Hynson

Louis V. Koerber

Georgia Linthicum

Arthur E. Lundvall Jr.

Louis B. McCarthy

Harry F. Reid Jr.

Charlotte M. Rothe

William A. Russ

Charles C. Stieff II

George D. Solter

Grace C. Tavenner

John S. Waters

Lisl D. Wilkinson

Lois Zanow

Ben Zaricor

Pub Date: 6/07/98

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad