Northeast High graduates win honors


ONE OF life's milestones finally arrived for the Classes of 1998 at Chesapeake and Northeast high schools over the weekend.

But before those students made that walk across the stage to get their diplomas, dozens of their best and brightest were honored for their accomplishments in the classroom, on the athletic fields or in a variety of extracurricular activities.

I don't have room in one column for all the prizewinners from both schools, so this week I'll deal with Northeast High, and next week with Chesapeake.

At Northeast, 14 students received the President's Award for Education Excellence, given to graduating seniors who have maintained a 3.5 grade-point average, out of a possible 4.0, and scored in the 85th percentile or above on national achievement tests. They are Cherisse Carson, Melissa Diddlemeyer, Brian Duvall, Todd Herrmann, Julie Iversen, Kerri Jeffrey, Jason Knauer, Michael Little, Jed Lurz, Mandi Marvel, Christopher Mason, Amanda Miracle, Deborah Morris and Gregory Tyson.

Diddlemeyer, Duvall, Hermann, Iversen, Knauer, Miracle, Little, Marvel and Tyson also received State of Maryland Merit Scholar awards for students in the top 5 percent of their graduating classes, along with Amanda Bessling, Nicole Insley, Kerri Jeffrey, Daniel Kelley, Amanda Miracle and Sarah Ruff.

Iversen also received the Principal's Leadership Award for academic accomplishments and leadership in school and the community.

Department awards were presented to Joseph Hooker, art; Paul Kelm, art service; Margot VanDenBerghe, art excellence; Christopher Strevig, buddy program; Julie Scanlon, business; Iversen, English and It's Academic team; Melissa Cowan, creative writing; David Beckner, special award for creative writing; Tori Barr, family and consumer science; Nicole Insley, French; Carson, Spanish; Todd Herrmann, mathematics; Kelley, math team; Francis Gambino, media and special yearbook award; Laura Hussey, John Philip Sousa band award; Deborah Morris, drum major award; Julie Howard, National School Choral Award; Elizabeth Alexander and Nicholas Klug, physical education; Jessica Keeler, biology; Kelley, chemistry; Michael Little, physics; Steven Colmus, social studies; Robert Wilson, technology; and Paul Kelm, yearbook.

Senior class officer awards were given to Julie Scanlon, Virginia Gibson, Michael Little and Kristen Giles.

Other local, state and general scholarships and awards were presented to Elizabeth Alexander, the Marvin Perry drama award-Scholarship for Scholars; Dennis Barth, the Marine Corps Semper Fidelis award; Amy Batton, Ameri-Corps service award; Daniel Bennett, VFMD; Carson, Penn State Dean's scholarship; Rachel Ciurca, Johnson & Wales scholarship, Maryland Higher Education grant and commission scholarship; Steve Colmus, Gettysburg College scholarship; Diddlemeyer, Towson University dean's scholarship, Tandy Technology award; Bradley Dugenske, NCO/EM Wives Club higher education grant; Duvall, Marine Corps scholastic excellence award; Ryan George, Army Reserves award; Virginia Gibson, Washington College merit scholarship; Kristin Giles, Rosemont College founders scholarship; Michelle Gray, Marine Corps distinguished athlete award; Joseph Halley, Northeast Players and senior class scholarships, Ameri-Corps service award; Herrmann, University of Maryland Dean's scholarship, Tandy Technology award, and Howard, Philadelphia Bible College Dean's award, leadership and music award, Teacher's Association of Anne Arundel County (TAAAC) scholarship, Ameri-Corps service award.

Other awards went to Iversen, University of Maryland president's scholarship, Ray Kroc Youth Achievement award, Wal-Mart scholarship, Capital-Gazette academic all star, Fort Meade Officers Wives Club Etta Baker scholarship, honorable mention-Maryland Distinguished Scholars, Stoney Creek Democratic Club scholarship, Tandy Technology award, Northeast SGA scholarship, Army Reserves award; Jeffrey, Towson University scholarship, Tandy Technology award, honorable mention-Maryland Distinguished scholars; Kelm, University of Maryland Baltimore County artist scholarship; Andrea Kirby, Ameri-Corps service award; Klug, Maryland Army National Guard scholar athlete award; Knauer, Villa Julie president's scholarship; Catherine Lange, Ameri-Corps service award; Michael Little, Salisbury State president's award, Maryland educational grant, Johns Hopkins grant, Elks and Pasadena Business Association scholarships; Tammy Littleton, Mars Supermarket scholarship; Angela Maenner, Women of the Moose scholarship; Mandi Marvel, Villa Julie presidential award, Ameri-Corps service award; and Christopher Mason, University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) president's scholar award.

Other awards went to Tara Miller, Wesley College academic scholarship; Amanda Miracle, Geneva College scholars award, UMBC scholars award; Deborah Morris, University of Delaware honor's scholarship, Macy Minorities in Medicine program, Pasadena Business Association, Tony J. Spencer scholarships; Matthew Morris, Navy service award; Sarah Ruff, Towson University provost scholarship, Tandy Technology award; Julie Scanlon, Northeast SGA scholarship, Maryland Army National Guard distinguished scholar, Ameri-Corps service award; Stacie Siemek, Ameri-Corps service award; Adam Sutton, Marine Corps distinguished athlete award; Robert Trettel, McDonald's scholarship; Gregory Tyson, Syracuse dean's scholarship, Univerity of Maryland College Park dean's scholarship, Pasadena Business Association scholarship.

The total value of scholarships awarded was more than $400,000.

That's Northeast. Next week, the Chesapeake High students who graduated with similar honors will be in the spotlight.

Pub Date: 6/05/98

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad