Lieske and Gill head squads for all-star scrap Fifth annual senior game scheduled today at Loyola


All-Metro Player of the Year Alex Lieske (Gilman) will lead the Red & White Team, while two-time All-Metro Conor Gill (St. TTC Paul's), the overall C. Markland Kelly Award winner, heads up the Black & Gold squad in today's fifth annual Senior All-State lacrosse game at Loyola College at 2 p.m.

Lieske, an attackman headed for Duke, will be teamed with two-time All-Metro attackman Kyle Campbell (Mount Hebron), a Loyola-bound player who was honored as the C. Markland Kelly winner for 1A-2A schools.

Joining Lieske and Campbell on the Red & White squad will be second-team All-Metro midfielders Blake Atkins (Gilman), Jamie Hubbard (Friends), Pete Ludlam (Annapolis) and P.J. Paolisso (Centennial), with second-team All-Metro Adam Baxter (Severna Park) leading the defense.

Teaming with the Virginia-bound Gill will be All-Metro midfielders Pat Jackson (Loyola), Mike Satyshur (St. Paul's), Brett Wagner (Calvert Hall) and James Watson-Galbraith (Boys' Latin), with All-Metro defenseman Scott Marimow (St. Paul's) and three- time Washington Post All-Metro Dan McCormick (Landon) in goal.

Black & Gold

Attack: Correll Caulfield, Walter Johnson; Billy Fort, Landon; Conor Gill, St. Paul's; Mike Janney, Dulaney; Corey Snype, Carver-Vo Tech; Pat Tracy, St. Paul's.

Midfield: Pat Curtis, Hereford; James Disney, McDonogh; Rickey Hayes, Loyola; Craig Hochstadt, Boys' Latin; Pat Jackson, Loyola; Mike Lamonica, Calvert Hall; Lonny Langley, Douglass; Brenndan Mohler, Catonsville; Mike Satyshur, St. Paul's; Brett Wagner, Calvert Hall; James Watson-Galbraith, Boys' Latin.

Defense: Chris Bowman, McDonogh; Brad Cook, Loyola; Jeff Groszkowski, Fallston; Reuban Kraft, North Harford; Scott Marimow, St. Paul's; Brandon Paul, Sherwood.

Goalies: Brian Coleman, Loch Raven; Dan McCormick, Landon.

Coaches: Jeff Fritz, Churchill; Tony Ruocco, Patterson; Bob Wright, John Carroll

Red & White:

Attack: Levi Blankenship, Queen Anne's; Kyle Campbell, Mount Hebron; Jon Fellows, Kent; Alex Lieske, Gilman; Keith Nechanicky, Good Counsel.

Midfield: Blake Atkins, Gilman; Josh Cornett, Severna Park; Greg Fisher, Westminster; Brad Hopkins, Kent; Jamie Hubbard, Friends; Pete Ludlam, Annapolis; Collin Meerholtz, Calvert LC; Ryan Metzbower, St. Mary's; P.J. Paolisso, Centennial; Mike Rabnovitz, South Carroll; Dan Sommers, St. Mary's Ryken.

Defense: Adam Baxter, Severna Park; Whit Faris, Glenelg; Robbie Gillie, Stephan DeCatur; Matt Kimmel, Good Counsel; Phil Martin, Linganore; Jamie Powers, Broadneck; Andrew Walenga, North County.

Goalies: Jon Higdon, South River; Pat McClammer, Mount Hebron

Coaches: Mike Bellotte, Severna Park; Steve Berquist, DeCatur; Eric Schultz, Good Counsel

Athlete of Year luncheon

The 32nd Annual Baltimore Sun High School Athlete of the Year Awards Luncheon will be held Monday, June 8 at Martin's West starting at 11: 30 a.m. Athletes selected during the 1997-98 school year are invited along with their coach and both parents or any two relatives. One male and one female will be chosen as Athletes of the Year and winners will be announced at the luncheon. For questions, call Sam Davis at 410-332-6534.

Pub Date: 5/31/98

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad