BaseballCardinals: Optioned P Cliff Politte and C...



Cardinals: Optioned P Cliff Politte and C Eli Marrero to Triple-A Memphis. Recalled P Sean Lowe and P Curtis King from Memphis. Will recall P Brady Raggio from Memphis today.

Devil Rays: Purchased contract of former Orioles minor-league 3B Scott McClain from Triple-A Durham. Designated P Dan Carlson for assignment.

Marlins: Placed P Antonio Alfonseca (pulled right groin) on 15-day DL. Recalled P Manuel Barrios from Triple-A Charlotte.

Reds: Recalled P Danny Graves from Triple-A Indianapolis. Optioned OF Pat Watkins to Indianapolis.

Rockies: Activated IF Jason Bates. Outrighted IF Nelson Liriano to Triple-A Colorado Springs.


Heat: Retained TV announcer Eric Reid and ended negotiations with former NBC broadcaster Marv Albert.

ABL: Named Jim Cleamons coach of Chicago.


Capital Athletic Conference: Named Salisbury State 3B Dave Westervelt, OF Dane Schriver and P Jason Baynard to first team in baseball. Named St. Mary's 3B Steve Ousler Rookie of the Year and to second team. Named St. Mary's C Bret Dean, IF Mike Bolmer and P Alex Warner and Salisbury State 1B Brian Burden and DH Cable Miller to second team. Named York College P Troy Walters (John Carroll) to first team. Named Mary Washington 1B Eric Guyton (Hagerstown) Player of the Year.

Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference: Named Fairfield A Matt Callaghan (St. Mary's) men's lacrosse Player of the Year. Named Fairfield D Scott Dupcack (Annapolis) to first team.

Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference: Named UMES IF Faheem Hammett and OF Mandell Marsh to second team and IF Felipe Perez and IF Kevin Mincey honorable mention in baseball. Named UMES IF Jennifer Hall, IF Ramona Slade and OF Andrea Jackson honorable mention in softball.

Georgia Tech: Signed point guard Tony Akins, Georgia Prep Player of the Year.

Houston: Track and field coach Tom Tellez, who has coached 12 Olympians including nine-time gold medalist Carl Lewis, will retire, effective at end of season.

Marshall: Named Jim Harrick Jr. men's assistant basketball coach.

Sam Houston State: Reassigned men's basketball coach Jerry Hopkins.

Towson: Gwynn Park G Shonte Simpson signed letter of intent with basketball program.


Bengals: Signed CB Artrell Hawkins to three-year contract.

Giants: Named David Gettleman assistant director of pro personnel.

Jaguars: Agreed to terms with CB Cordell Taylor, QB Jonathan Quinn, RB Tavian Banks, DT Harry Deligianis, C John Wade, DE Lemanzer Williams, FB Kevin McLeod, WR Alvis Whitted and LB Brandon Tolbert.

Raiders: Signed unrestricted free-agent TE Derek Brown, who had been with Jaguars.

Pub Date: 5/15/98

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad