Sun writer wins Edgar Award


Laura Lippman, a Sun features writer, has won a 1998 Edgar Award from the Mystery Writers of America for her Baltimore-based 1997 mystery, "Charm City."

Lippman's was among more than a dozen awards handed out Thursday evening by the mystery writers group, a 53-year-old organization dedicated to promoting the mystery as a literary genre. The Edgar is named for mystery pioneer Edgar Allan Poe. Her book "Charm City" (Avon), featuring a Baltimore newspaper reporter-turned-sleuth, was named best paperback original of 1997.

Other Edgar winners included James Lee Burke's "Cimarron Rose" as best novel; Joseph Kanon's "Los Alamos" as best first novel; and "L.A. Confidential" as best motion picture. Maryland's Barbara Mertz, who writes as Elizabeth Peters and Barbara Michaels, was given a grand master award for her life's work.

Lippman became a writer in The Sun's Today section in 1994. She joined The Evening Sun in 1989. "Baltimore Blues" and "Charm City" are the first two mysteries in a trilogy. "Butchers Hill" is due out this summer.

Pub Date: 5/02/98

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad