School panel finalists chosen 3 current members of Baltimore board, Embry among the 21


Three current Baltimore school board members and the head of a major nonprofit foundation are among the 21 finalists for a new panel to revamp city schools that is to be announced today by Gov. Parris N. Glendening and Mayor Kurt L. Schmoke.

The current school board president, Arnita Hicks McArthur, a professor at Baltimore City Community College; the current vice president, Charles L. Maker; and newly named member C. William Struever, a well-known developer and parent of two city public school students, are among those under consideration.

Also on the list, obtained by The Sun last night, are Robert C. Embry Jr., a former president of the city and state school boards and head of the Abell Foundation, a leading philanthropy that has funded several educational initiatives; and Patricia Morris, dean of the school of education at Morgan State University.

From the 21, Glendening and Schmoke will select nine members to replace the current nine-member school board.

Other well-known names on the list include Carl Stokes, a former city councilman; Colene Y. Daniel, a vice president in charge of community relations at Johns Hopkins Hospital and the Hopkins Health System; and Bonnie S. Copeland, an executive with the Greater Baltimore Committee, who holds a doctorate and has specialized in educational issues.

Those eight and 13 other finalists were culled by the Maryland State Board of Education from more than 100 nominees who expressed interest in serving on the school board or were nominated by community groups and institutions.

The new panel will have expanded control over school finances and personnel matters, and will also have an additional $254 million in state education aid to spend, the result of a bill signed this week by the governor that will funnel more money into the city schools in exchange for increased state say in who runs the system.

Under the terms of the legislation, all members of the new board must be city residents.

The school board also must have at least one parent, one resident familiar with special education, three who have educational expertise and four who have been high-level managers. The other finalists are Jean Tucker Mann, a Sandtown-Winchester community leader; J. Gary Lee, a Republican activist; and Marilyn Maultsby, an executive with Fidelity Health Systems Corp.; businessmen Edward J. Brody and Timothy R. Hearn; Carserlo Doyle; Wanda K. Grimes, Claudietta Johnson; Michele B. Noel; Dorothy G. Siegel; J. Tyson Tildon; Rosetta Kerr Wilson; and Miriam Zadek.

One finalist selected by the state board of education withdrew from consideration.

The finalists were selected in February but remained secret until last night.

Schmoke said at his weekly news conference yesterday that he and Glendening hoped to have the new board in place by June 1.

One of the board's first acts will be to select an interim chief to head the school system. By law, that selection must be made by June 15.

Schmoke said yesterday that the current superintendent, Walter G. Amprey, will not be kept on as interim superintendent.

Pub Date: 4/11/97

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad