Twelve will receive Women of Color awards


Three women and nine students will receive Tribute to Women of Color Awards at a luncheon at 11 a.m. Saturday in Annapolis.

This is the fifth year of the awards, sponsored by the YWCA of Annapolis and Anne Arundel County and Anne Arundel Medical Center.

Marita Carroll, a retired teacher and chairwoman of the Annapolis Housing Authority, will receive the Pathfinder's Award. Early in her career, Carroll was assigned to the "colored" school at Third Street and Chester Avenue in Eastport. When it was closed and its students integrated into Eastport Elementary School, Carroll in 1963 became the first African-American woman to lead the transition from an all-white to an integrated classroom. At the end of that year, some white parents who had previously asked that their children be transferred out of her classroom thanked her for the help she had given them.

Victoria Johnson, secretary of the Parole Community Association and a member of the Parole Alumni Association, has won the Service to Youth Award. Because of her, 65 Girl Scouts are registered in troops at Mount Olive African Methodist Episcopal Church. She is coordinator of the church's tutorial program, secretary of the Missionary Society, a choir member and an active member of 15 of the church's 20 committees and organizations.

Gwendolyn Davenport Bowser of Glen Burnie is the winner of the Good Samaritan Award. She is involved in Community Baptist Church, where she prepares food for bereaved families, visits the sick and elderly and organizes work with the homeless.

Nine Future Leaders Scholarships will be given to:

Tiffani Joi Keyes, a senior at Glen Burnie High School, who has won a full scholarship to Morgan State University. She is a member of Mount Moriah AME Church and president of the Community Service Committee.

Joy S. Dobson, a graduate of Annapolis High School studying music education at Anne Arundel Community College, has won the $1,000 Dr. Faye Allen Scholarship. She plans to attend Morgan State University this spring. She is a member of Mount Moriah AME Church, a member of the Kunta Kinte board of

directors and a former member of Bay Ridge Gardens Planning Action Committee.

Jennelle Murph, a senior at Annapolis High School, won the $500 Anne Arundel Medical Center Scholarship. She is a past president of Xinos Youth Sorority. She represents her school on the Annapolis Chamber of Commerce Committee and is president of the Junior Achievement Student Company.

Tia' D. Williams has won the $750 Ladies of the Grand Army of the Republic Scholarship. She attends Broadneck High School and is Youth Leader at Asbury United Methodist Church and a member of the NAACP Youth Chapter.

Sherise Lindsay has won the $500 American Association of University Women, Annapolis Chapter Scholarship. She is a senior at Old Mill Senior High, a member of St. Johns United Methodist Church in Linthicum and the Glen Burnie Baptist Church youth choirs and a volunteer at People Against Child Abuse.

Chalia Neonte Belt, a junior at Glen Burnie High School, has been awarded the William Reese and Sons Mortuary Scholarship of $500. She belongs to Hall United Methodist Church and is president of Junior Ushers.

Angela Rivas of Glen Burnie High School is the winner of the YWCA Board of Directors Scholarship of $400. She is an active member of the Ebonie Culture Club and Talent Search. She has worked on Project Unity and as a Project DARE role model for the county police and on the Youth Advisory Board at Marley Station.

Channae I. Goodwine has won the $250 Flowers by Alice Scholarship. She is a member of the Glen Burnie High School National Honor Society and is a participant in the Licensed Practical Nursing Program.

Altese E. Pierce, a student at Meade High School, has been awarded the Delta Kappa Gamma International Society, Omega Chapter of Maryland $300 scholarship. She is involved in many activities, including the Red Cross, the Black Studies Union and the Future Business Leaders of America.

Jannette Dates, dean of communications at Howard University, will be speaker at the lunch at the Holiday Inn.

Pub Date: 2/27/97

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad