Hall of Fame taps former Navy, Hopkins star Schneck Nine others scheduled for induction in June


Brendan Schneck, who starred at both Navy and Johns Hopkins, is included in a class of five men and five women elected to the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame.

A ceremony honoring the inductees will be held June 6 at the Baltimore Hilton and Towers.

Schneck, an attackman-midfielder, earned All-America honors at Navy in 1978 and at Hopkins in 1980 and 1981. He played on two U.S. men's teams in the 1980s and was named to the All-World Team in 1982. Schneck was named to the NCAA's 25th anniversary team in 1985.

The other inductees:

Tina Sloan Green: Member of U.S. women's first team and reserves 1969-71. Coached at Temple 19 years, twice reaching the Final Four. Author of two books and founder of Black Women in Sports Foundation.

Stanley Kowalski: Two-time All-America midfielder at Cortland State, member of U.S. men's team in 1974 and 11-time USCLA all-star selection. Coached Half Hollow Hills West High in New York from 1978-88.

James Potter: Gilman grad and two-time All-America midfielder at Virginia. Co-captain of U.S. men's team in 1974. Former president of Lacrosse Foundation.

Nolan Rogers: City College grad and third-team All-America defenseman for Duke in 1953. Three-year president of Lacrosse Foundation, a U.S. delegate for the International Lacrosse Federation and GM of the U.S. men's team for three years.

Enid Clinchard Russell: An attack player with exceptional speed and grace. Spent seven years on the U.S. women's team and is considered the player against whom others are measured.

Janet Smith: Played on three U.S. touring teams and was a two-time member of the U.S. women's first team. Led University of Delaware to two national championships, and has coached in Japan to help spread the game.

Nathalie "Muffy" Smith: Attended Bouve College of Tufts University and was named to the U.S. women's first team or reserves from 1960-69. Considered the backbone of Long Island lacrosse, she is on the rules committee. Professor and coach at Hofstra.

Vince Sombrotto: Former Hofstra All-America midfielder who played on four U.S. men's teams and was named to the All-World team in 1982. Has played for the Long Island Lacrosse Club for 16 years and for the Major Indoor Lacrosse League's New York Saints since 1987.

Helena "Pete" Wheeler: Being inducted posthumously. Played, coached, and officiated. Member of first official touring team to Great Britain in 1935. Considered a pioneer of the women's game.

Pub Date: 2/27/97

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad