Columbia Art Festival seeks artisans to exhibit work next year


HAPPY HOLIDAYS to everyone. May the new year bring happiness, good health and challenges.

Plans for the 1997 Columbia Art Festival are well under way. A call for artisan entries has gone out.

All fine-art and craft artists are eligible to apply for a booth for the festival June 27-29 near Lake Kittamaqundi at Columbia's Town Center.

Residence in Maryland is not a requirement.

Many of the previous participants have developed a following of customers who attend the festival annually, so applications and booth assignments are decided by a jury.

Prospective exhibitors should send five slides of their work and a photograph of their booth display.

A prospectus of the event may be requested from Columbia Art Center, 6100 Foreland Garth, Columbia 21045, or in person at the center in Long Reach Village shopping center.

Classes for the new year

If your New Year's resolution is to learn something new, inquire at Columbia Art Center and village community centers.

Dance, exercise, cartooning, ceramics and art are a few of the subjects being offered.

The art center and village community centers are well-versed in producing birthday parties and other celebrations.

Thanks to everyone

"Thanks To You" was the November theme for Stevens Forest Elementary students.

Being kind and caring earned superstar status for Eric McCullin, Aaron Mogren, Sarah Thorne, Angela Frankeberger, Kellie Carswell, Nicole Kaufmann, Michael Obermeyer, Terra Albert, Sarah Barnes, Joshua Yarn, Chelsea Seibold and Ashley Eliott of the Cherry Team.

Tulip Team awardees were Brittney Riordan, Laura Gaeng, Michelle Nolan, Simon Ton, Margo Santiago, Laraine Freund, Bryonny Rogers, Kharlya Carpio, Becca Price, Erica Popvich, Michael Cale and Karlie Hart.

Oak Team winners were Franny Archer, Ashley Starace, Carly Dubick, Parker Frost, Michael Price, Kyle Dexheimer, Troy Saunders, Gregory Arbalaez, DeShaun Antone, Kevin Harding, Karen Johnson and Adam Villamor.

Dogwood Super Stars were Emily Birzak, Katie Hanges, Kate LoPresto, Doug Nelson, Andrew Barrow, Brittany Borish, Nell Geddes, Kendra Cole, Kristy Zanker, James Price, Jessie Dexheimer, Tiffany Pierson, Mandy Wilson, Joshua Bovill, D. J. Jackson and Tori Brown.

Courteous Sassafras students included Ashley Johnston, Shaun Dubick, Courtney Cox, Tyler Selby, Rakki Jones, Brian Hamby, Bryce Gaeng, Jenna Brown, Peter Alpert, Rochelle Gedeon, Lauren Pappas and C. J. Foreman.

Driving fast

Do you check your speedometer at regular intervals while driving through your neighborhood? Are you sure that you are not speeding?

Some of your Kings Contrivance village neighbors are helping you with that responsibility.

They have been trained for the S.M.A.R.T. program (Speed Monitoring and Awareness Radar Team.)

Using a radar unit and display board that records vehicle speed, the new trainees hope to remind drivers to slow down and observe the legal limit.

Their data will help the Howard County and state police departments to initiate speed enforcement measures.

The goal is to save lives and prevent injuries and property damage.

St. John's concert

Under the direction of Chris Youstra, St. John's choir performed its annual Christmas concert before a standing-room-only audience at Wilde Lake Interfaith Center on Sunday.

The choir is composed of men, women and children from east and west Columbia and Ellicott City who are parishioners of St. John's Roman Catholic Church.

Top teacher

Congratulations to Barry Palmer for being voted one of the top five Howard County teachers in the Columbia Magazine's "1996 Best of Howard County."

Palmer has taught physical education at Stevens Forest Elementary since 1972.

In addition, he can be found on the premises almost every day after school, supervising children during skating and tumbling time, helping to build rockets and directing the annual play.

Stevens Forest benefits

Stevens Forest Principal Bill Payne says "thank you" to everyone who supported School Night at McDonald's and Friendly's restaurants.

Neighbors had the opportunity to socialize, and help their school at the same time.

Stevens Forest student art decorated McDonald's.

The artists are Taylor Bane, Stevens Graf, Devin Buonato, Nell Geddes, Troy Saunders, Ashley Starace, Joshua Wilson, Michael Nathan, Brett Elliott, Tyler Selby, Amanda Wilson, Sasha Sher, Jessica Villamor, Ashley Johnston, Nerissa Fisher, Sabrina Cox, Bradley Fratini, Erica Popvich, Wataru Inoue, Gina Teranto, Mark Berge, Tim Murphy, Jamal Montgomery, Timothy Shu, Amy Adler, Kirah Yen and Peter Linton.

Pub Date: 12/24/96

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad