St. Johns principal receives Catholic school awardPatricia...


St. Johns principal receives Catholic school award

Patricia M. Brink, principal of St. Johns Catholic School in Westminster, was honored Nov. 21 as part of National Day of Appreciation for Catholic School Principals.

The event was instituted six years ago by the National Catholic Education Association to allow the school community to express its gratitude to the principals for their dedication to education.

At an assembly, Brink was presented with a Lenox crystal bowl displaying the Catholic School logo, and flowers and balloons. Students gave her a bag and photo album.

Charles Phillips wins Bailer Award at WMC

Charles Phillips of Frederick is the 1996 winner of the Joseph--R. Bailer Award at Western Maryland College.

The award is presented annually to a WMC master's degree recipient who has made a significant contribution to the field of education.

A library media specialist and computer network supervisor at Brunswick High School, Phillips earned his master's degree from Western Maryland College in 1985. He teaches part time in WMC's media library science program.

Phillips was selected for his dedication to helping students and teachers understand today's technology. Each year he also takes on two or three students for instruction in more advanced computer and technology courses, including a course he developed to help high school students use the Internet for education and research.

Four educators honored for 25 years of service

They all came to Westminster in 1971, part of a class of 10 new faculty members at Western Maryland College.

The four -- Howard Orenstein, associate professor of psychology; Harry L. Rosenzweig, professor of math and computer science; Robert Sapora, professor of communication; and Richard Smith Jr., professor of chemistry -- were recently honored for their 25 years of service to WMC.

Orenstein of Hampstead was one of the first social science professors to incorporate computer technology into his classroom. His research interest in cognition has led to studies on human memory and sleep disorders.

Westminster resident Rosenzweig, who has served as chairman of the mathematics and computer science department, is a member of WMC's Problem-Solving Group, which has submitted more than 100 solutions to problems to mathematics journals.

Sapora of Westminster teaches linguistics and film, holding a joint appointment in the departments of English and communication. In 1990, he earned the college's Distinguished Teaching Award.

nTC A Woodsboro resident, Smith is on sabbatical in 1996-1997 to continue his cancer research projects. He was named 1995-96 Chemist of the Year by the Maryland section of the American Chemical Society. His research has earned three grants from the National Science Foundation and an award from the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Scholar/Fellow Program.

WMC names Hoover Scholars

Western Maryland College has announced its 1996-1996 list of Hoover Scholars, chosen for their commitment to higher education, scholastic aptitude in their chosen field and financial need.

The scholars include Audrey Bair, a junior from Westminster; Laura Liggett, a junior from Hampstead; and two Frederick County students, Heidi Morehouse, a sophomore from New Market, and Nicole Reader, a senior from Monrovia.

Scholars have at least a 3.48 grade point average and are majoring in art/art history, communication, English, German, graphic design, psychology, physics, sociology, studio art and theater.

Pub Date: 12/15/96


Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad