Bandits align with four other teams in AHL's new Mid-Atlantic Division


The Bandits have moved into a newly named division in the American Hockey League and picked up a couple of new playmates.

Gone are the Southern Division and the Western Conference, and in their stead come the Mid-Atlantic Division and the Southern Conference for the Bandits.

Last year's Baltimore, Binghamton, Carolina, Hershey grouping now reads Baltimore, Carolina, Hershey (formerly Cornwall), the new Kentucky Thoroughblades and the Philadelphia Phantoms (former Hershey players).

Portland, Providence, Springfield and Worcester, aptly named the New England Division, join the Mid-Atlantic to make up the Southern Conference. Binghamton ends up with Adirondack, Albany, Rochester and Syracuse in the also aptly named Empire State Division, which combines with the Canadian Division of Fredericton, Hamilton, Saint John and St. John's to comprise the Northern Conference.

Missing from last year's cast are Cornwall and Prince Edward Island, but the AHL remains at 18 teams, Cornwall ending up in Hershey and Lexington, Ky., aboard as a new member.

The same Calder Cup playoff format as last year will be used, the top eight teams in each conference qualifying. The AHL All-Star Game will be played in Saint John, New Brunswick, in mid-January.

Pub Date: 7/21/96

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad