Alex. Brown is honored for donations to United Way 49 employees gave at least $10,000 in company's profitable 1995

Alex. Brown Inc., the investment banking firm that recorded its best year in 1995, yesterday received an award from United Way of America for 49 employees who each gave $10,000 or more in 1995, a national high.

The company got the Fleur de Lis Award for having the largest number of such individual donations in the country. A.B. "Buzzy" Krongard, chairman and chief executive officer, and Mayo A. Shattuck III, president and chief operating officer, directed the firm's campaign, which raised $1.04 million.


The 49 became members of United Way's Alexis de Tocqueville Society.

Alex. Brown earned a record $95.6 million in 1995, up 35 percent from 1994.


Employees and union members of two other companies and a third company also were honored at the annual meeting of United Way of Central Maryland for giving more than $1 million in the 1995 campaign, led by James B. Sellinger, area general manager for IBM.

That drive raised $36.2 million, a 5 percent increase over 1994 giving.

The firms and donations were Baltimore Gas & Electric Co., $1,674,600, the biggest corporate donor; Bell Atlantic and the Communications Workers of America, $1,505,488; Northrop Grumman Corp.'s Linthicum electronics operation and the Salaried Employees Association, International Union of Electrical, Radio and Machine Workers, and the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, $1,500,000.

St. Agnes Hospital was honored for the "campaign of the year" with its 35 percent increase in donations.

Individual volunteer awards were given to Patricia A. Day, senior director of human resources for the Johns Hopkins University, and Carmen Papale, manager of the Baltimore regional joint board of UNITE, the Union of Needletrade, Industrial and Textile Employees.

Elected as new officers were Joseph E. Blair, Jr., chairman; Benjamin Griswold IV, chair-elect; Sellinger, vice chair; Ernest R. Greco, secretary; and Arnold Williams, treasurer.

Donald Manekin is chairman of the 1996 drive.

Pub Date: 6/26/96