Aberdeen wins 12th straight Harford title


Kevin Carter (19-1), defending 103-pound champion, and James Axel (20-2), a 112-pound finalist a year ago, scored victories in the first two title matches, and Aberdeen went on to wrap up its 12th straight Harford County championship at North Harford last night.

They turned out to be the Eagles' only individual titlists, but earlier outstanding performances in the consolation round had helped set up another championship for 24-year coach Dick Slutzky and turned the meet into its perennial race for second place.

Aberdeen, which had trailed North Harford, 114 1/2 -108 1/2 , at the start of the second day's matches, totaled 177 points to 147 1/2 for the Hawks. Fallston overhauled C. Milton Wright for third, 108 to 102.

Carter was joined in the field by two other 1995 winners, but only North Harford's Tom Staab was successful. The 171-pound winner as a sophomore, he made it three titles in a row, as he retained his 189 honor with the only pin of the championship round.

Staab, whose only loss of the year was to John Carroll's Mike Babiak in his opening match, ran his string of successes to 26 when he put down John Loss of Edgewood at 4 minutes, 23 seconds.

Dave Schmidt (14-4) of C. Milton Wright, a champion at 103 in 1993 and at 135 last year, came in seeded second behind Fallston's Joe Ercolano (24-3), and that was the way they finished, as Ercolano used a late reversal for what turned out to be an 8-7 win.

The winners were either first or second seeds in all but one class, where recent North Harford transfer (from Joppatowne) Rick Desper (7-0), the fourth seed, outlasted Wright's Matt Lepito (11-12), 6-4, in overtime. Although there was some discussion as to whether the move came in time, Desper escaped at the end of regulation to get a 4-4 tie, then scored a takedown 22 seconds into overtime.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad