Alexander convention delegate slate announced GOP presidential hopeful has 22 names in primary; CAMPAIGN 1996


The Maryland campaign of former Tennessee Gov. Lamar Alexander formally announced yesterday its slate of candidates for delegate to the Republican National Convention that will appear on the March 5 presidential primary ballot.

The campaign for Mr. Alexander, who is trailing in national and state polls, was able to muster 22 delegate candidates statewide -- just shy of the maximum three candidates for each of the state's eight congressional districts.

The campaign corralled only one delegate candidate in Baltimore City.

"We are very pleased with the response in Maryland to Lamar's message of economic growth, freedom from government interference and personal responsibility," said Kevin Igoe, Mr. Alexander's state coordinator.

"Lamar has earned the support of the workers of the Maryland Republican Party because they understand that the 1996 election is about putting an end to the Clinton presidency," said Mr. Igoe, a former executive director of the state GOP. "Lamar Alexander is the one candidate in this race who can do that."

Head of Md. campaign

The Alexander campaign in Maryland is headed by Howard County Councilman Dennis R. Schrader, Del. Robert A. McKee of Washington County, and three county central committee chairs, Donald L. O'Neal of St. Mary's County, Helen R. Fister of Anne Arundel County, and Karen Lancaster of Allegany County.

fTC The state campaign of Senate Majority Leader Bob Dole of Kansas announced a full slate of 24 delegate candidates Wednesday. Texas Sen. Phil Gramm will formally announce his slate today at a news conference in Baltimore.

The Alexander slate

Mr. Alexander's delegate candidates are:

1st District -- Richard Bunting Sr. of Bishopville, Worcester County; James T. "Jay" Clenny III of Annapolis; and Barbara J. Wilkins of Annapolis.

2nd District -- Edward L. Blanton Jr. of Glenarm, Baltimore County; Cathleen M. Vitale of Severna Park, Anne Arundel County; and John Hillstrom of Essex, Baltimore County.

3rd District -- Gregory H. Barnhill from Stevenson, Baltimore County; Michael J. Deets of Columbia, Howard County; and Howard County Councilman Dennis R. Schrader of Columbia.

4th District -- Edmund M. Jaskiewicz of Upper Marlboro, Prince George's County; John T. Gleason of Fort Washington, Prince George's County; and Margaret A. Beazley of West Hyattsville, Prince George's County.

5th District -- Barbara A. Dorney of Laurel, Prince George's County; Helen R. Fister of Davidsonville, Anne Arundel County; and Donald L. O'Neal of Great Mills, St. Mary's County.

6th District -- Brenda Butscher of Oakland, Garrett County; Washington County Del. Robert A. McKee of Hagerstown; and James E. Reter of Westminster, Carroll County.

7th District -- Diane M. Baker, Baltimore City.

8th District -- Byron Anderson of Chevy Chase; Ellis E. "Bud" Meredith of Bethesda; and June M. Twaddell of Bethesda.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad